Yale University Library Research Guides: French Language and Literature: Newspaper sources

Yale Access to Major French-Language Newspapers

Yale Library access to French newspapers includes print, online and microfilm. The links below are for digital access, which in many cases involves overlapping database coverage. For other formats, including print and microfilm, search by Journal Title in Orbis. For current issues and browsing, use PressReader or Eureka's "PDF" section. The newspaper databases typically offer full-text access, though with the need to search by topic or date. Make sure English only isn't selected.

Agence France-Presse
L'Express
L'Obs (formerly Nouvel observateur)
La tribune de Genève
Le Figaro
Also in Factiva
Le Monde
For browsing use "Publication PDF" section on Eureka (defaults to most recent, but searching back to 1944 possible). Le Monde archive from 1944-2000 also available ProQuest Historical Newspapers with more powerful search capabilities.
Libération
Midi libre
Sud-ouest

Links to external digital newspaper projects and sites

WESSWEB: Selected Western European News and Newspapers Websites

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: an international, and extensive, list of digital projects

Yale newspaper databases with French or European Content

Eureka
A searchable database of Canadian and European newspapers, trade publications, news wires, radio and television program transcripts, websites and blogs, and social media. Some sources are available in PDF full text. PDF section defaults to most recent issue, but browsing by date is also possible, Available media sources publish Canadian and international news in English and French. For a complete list of available sources, visit: http://www.eureka.cc/ListeSources.
Factiva
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. NB: Unclick "English" for foreign-language resources.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts. It provides access to publications and information sources in a variety of fields, including: newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. International resources in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch and German. Under the "News" tab select "News by Language."
PressReader
Provides access to thousands of top newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. Only the last 90 days are available. Filter by language or country.
RetroNews
RetroNews, the official news site of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, offers a collection of French press titles published from 1631-1950 which can be filtered by frequency, press type, and publication location. The texts are supplemented by audio recordings, slideshows, video, and texts. Yale users can create a personal account for advanced features.
more...less...
Enhances what is available on Gallica.

Guide to Current News Resources at Yale

News Resources (Current)
by Rachel Sperling Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 3135 views this year

French Language and Literature: Newspaper sources

Yale Access to Major French-Language Newspapers

Links to external digital newspaper projects and sites

Yale newspaper databases with French or European Content

Guide to Current News Resources at Yale

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries