It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site gives underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard. Composers that submit works to … And We Were Heard are matched with top-notch
wind bands and engage in collaborative recording sessions. The resulting audio tracks are hosted on our site along with innovative ideas of how to support diverse voices in music.
From the Composer Diversity Project, the database allows users to discover over 4000 composers of historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations. You can search by composer name, living or deceased, common large and small ensemble genres, racial, ethnic, or cultural demographics, and by location (city, state, and country).
links of composers' names to library holdings of scores of Black composers of classical music. Clicking on a name will yield the composer's scores in Worldcat, the combined online catalogs of thousands of libraries worldwide. Clicking on the title of a work will show the libraries that own the work.
This is a comprehensive index to newspaper and periodical indexes, biographical dictionaries, bibliographies, dissertations and theses, music collections, and published discographies. Resources range from the mid-eighteenth century to the present, and ranging geographically from Europe and Africa to the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean. Contains sections on composers, conductors, individual instrumentalists, symphony orchestras, opera singers and companies.
Dedicated to helping to bring greater diversity to the ranks of classical music performers, composers, and audiences by making the music of Black composers available to everyone. MBC’s Living Composers Directory is designed for those seeking to commission; for performers, conductors, and concert programmers seeking existing music; and for other researchers and scholars of contemporary classical music.
Now in its third edition, Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Painstakingly gathered from a wide variety of sources, the information updates and expands previous editions and fills in the gaps left by the other major English-language music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Entries provide biographical data comprising full names, birth and death dates and locations, background, education, and training, as well as selective works lists more than 2,300 composers. An index of composers by country and women composers of Latin America complement the volume. An essential part of any music library, Latin American Classical Composers is an invaluable reference for librarians, musicologists, ethnomusicologists, researchers, and music students.
LGBTQ classical music composers have spanned the generations. They include the early Baroque composers of Europe (such as Jean-Baptiste Lully), impressionist classicists (such as Maurice Ravel), mid-nineteen century modernists (such as Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland, and Benjamin Britten), and contemporary composers (such as Stephen Hough, Jennifer Higdon, and Gareth Farr). This group of LGBTQ composers has also been active in composing works for many artistic forms. These include ballet, opera, piano, string instruments, and full orchestral movements. Many have had their work generously recognized with awards, such as Pulitzer Prizes, Grammy Awards, and significant national honours.
The BIG LIST of Women Composers is an ever-expanding list featuring more than 5,000 women composers (and counting). From pre-medieval composers to 21st century singer-songwriters, pick a country, a century, a music genre: you will find a woman there! From DONNE: Women in Music
The Kapralova Society is a Canadian non-profit music society, founded in 1998 in Toronto. An affiliate member of the International Alliance for Women in Music, the Society's mission is to promote interest in Kapralova and other women in music through scholarly research, education, and special projects, often in partnership with schools of music, public broadcasters, publishing houses, and other organizations.
Focuses on women making various kinds of experimental/avant garde music. Some of these artists may also work within more mainstream forms, but they are included here because of their other work that is more challenging. Compiled by Megan Mitchell.