It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A series of books that focus on different regions and traditions around the world, each with the subtitle "Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture" Most use extensive fieldwork, interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, and vivid illustrations to guide students through modern-day music practices.
A database of reference tools and web sites for music and dance, compiled at Brigham Young University, a successor to Duckles/Reed.
Bibliographies of Music Literature
Many of the works on this page are bibliographies that focus on the literature of music - writings about music in books, articles, dissertations, and so on. Some also include lists of music and recordings.
African Music is devoted to ethnographic, anthropological, musicological, and popular studies of sub-Saharan African music from the 1890s to the present. The bibliography is organized into six basic sections. Section one covers works on cultural policy and the performing arts in sub-Saharan Africa, while section two provides a selected guide to works on ethnomusicology. Section three, the largest, deals with general works and regional/country studies of traditional sub-Saharan musics, defined most simply as the local village or rural musics of West, Central, Southern, and East Africa. General and regional/country studies of African pop music as well as biographical and critical studies of 275 popular musicians and groups are covered in section four. Section five focuses on the acculturated or art music traditions of Africa's Westernized elite, citing both general works and biographical/critical studies on African composers and performers. The sixth, and final, music section covers general studies on African church, or liturgical music. The items cited in these six sections range from books, dissertations, unpublished papers, and periodical and newspaper articles, to films, videotapes, and audiotapes in all of the major Western languages as well as several African ones. The three appendixes deal, respectively, with reference works on African music and culture; archives and research centers; and a selected discography listing both traditional and popular music recordings and outlets where they may be found. Four indexes--ethnic group, subject, artist and author--complete the work and provide a key to its 5,800 entries. Covers works from 1732 to the present.
Cross-disciplinary in approach and extensively indexed, the bibliography lists (mostly with annotation) some 1,700 titles, covering a wide variety of sources, and including material in English, French, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Coverage is not limited to music produced on African soil, but also includes African-influenced musics in the Western hemisphere.
In spite of its relatively small size Cuba has had an inordinately large musical influence both inside the Caribbean and abroad. Ranging from the 19th century to early 2009, this guide offers entries on all of the island's main genre families, e.g. Cancion Cubana, Danzon, Son, Rumba, and Sacred Musics (Santeria, Palo, Abakua, and Arara), as well as such recent developments as timba, rap and regueton. It also provides sections on Afro-Cuban musical instruments, the music's influence abroad, and a biographical and critical component covering the lives and careers of more than 800 artists and ensembles. Spanish-language sources are covered comprehensively, in particular dozens of locally published journals such as Bohemia, Carteles, Revolucion y Cultura, Revista Salsa Cubana, and Tropicana Internacional, all indexed here for the first time, as well as the sizable international literature in English, French, and other European languages. The work concludes with an extensive reference section offering lists of Sources Consulted, a guide to relevant Libraries and Archives, an appendix listing artists and ensembles by idiom/occupation, and two detailed Author and Subject Indexes.
Call Number: Ref. ML 128 A2 D3+] (also a circulating copy that can be requested)om LSF)
Publication Date: 1981
v. 1. Reference materials.
v. 2. Afro-American idioms.
v. 3. Geographical studies.
v. 4. Theory, education, and related studies.
An annotated bibliography, international in scope, with emphasis on the United States.
This is a comprehensive index to newspaper and periodical indexes, biographical dictionaries, bibliographies, dissertations and theses, music collections, and published discographies. Resources range from the mid-eighteenth century to the present, and ranging geographically from Europe and Africa to the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean. Contains sections on composers, conductors, individual instrumentalists, symphony orchestras, opera singers and companies.
The islands of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia are steeped in diverse musical traditions that reach far beyond the expanse of the Pacific Ocean. This book provides a thematic, succinct introduction to the music of the Pacific Islands - a region of the world that has long been underrepresented in ethnomusicological studies. The text draws on interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, vivid illustrations, and insights gained from ongoing participation in Pacific music. The authors use four themes - colonialism, belief systems, musical flows, and the re/presentation of Pacific cultures - to survey the region and draw parallels and contrasts between its various musical traditions. Accompanied by 70-minute audio CD containing musical examples discussed in the book. Companion website.
This position statement addresses equitable access to music education for all students, so that students, regardless of race, ethnicity, disability, economic status, religious background, sexual orientation and identity, socioeconomic status, academic standing, exceptionalities, or musical abilities, can participate in the making of music within their schools. A bibliography of resources is linked from the page.
An annotated bibliography of publications concerned with issues of women, gender, and music, in a collective sense, arranged according to subject. Coverage is international and includes all types of music--both Western and non-Western art music, jazz, popular, folk, and ethnic music. References include books, periodical articles, online sources, and score and sound recording anthologies. Author and subject indexes.
Call Number: ML128 W872 B6+ Oversize (also in Reference)
Publication Date: 1979
Classified, annotated, and indexed collection of more than 5,000 references. Includes author/subject index to literature and a composer/author index to music. Music entries include timings. Coverage for art music and popular music through 1920. Index to recordings. Also available online from the Internet Archive
Call Number: Online book; Also in print: Ref. ML 128 W872 P3 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography emerging from more than twenty-five years of feminist scholarship on music. This book testifies to the great variety of subjects and approaches represented in over two decades of published writings on women, their work, and the important roles that feminist outlooks have played in formerly male-oriented academic scholarship or journalistic musings on women and music.