It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This group focuses on the lack of equity in composer representation and programming in concerts. Resources on this site include music by composers who identify as part of the African Diaspora, conversational series with leaders in music organizations, educational materials to introduce African American traditions and music to students.
The Center’s collections promote the music of the African diaspora and include materials covering a variety of idioms in Black music. Search across primary source content created by individuals and musical organizations, including correspondence, scores, oral histories, as well as early recordings (e.g. wax cylinders).
DONNE is a charitable foundation that is here to make a positive change in the fight against gender inequality within the music industry. Our main goal is to celebrate, advance, and amplify women in music so that they are seen, heard, and appreciated for their talent so they can leave a legacy of inspiration for future generations.
The Institute promotes the music of historically underrepresented composers through its advocacy work and also by making available the Composer Diversity Database, Works Diversity Database, orchestra season analysis, bibliographies, and more.
The International Alliance for Women in Music builds awareness of women's contributions to musical life. The website provides online materials about individual historical women musicians, links to articles, historical surveys, collections and databases, and archival articles from the ILWC Journal , the IAWM Journal and Proceedings of the International Congress on Women in Music. It also links to related organizations and websites.
The Music of Asian America Research Center (MAARC) strives to increase knowledge and awareness of Asian American history and experience through collecting and conducting research on materials related to music-making by Asian Americans. The programs disseminate information about Asian American cultures and open difficult questions about race, immigration, mental health and trauma, economic inequities, and many other issues. The website includes an introductory essay to the music, a bibliography, two podcasts, and playlists. Future plans include biographical essays.