It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
Due to COVID-19, library services have been altered to facilitate social distancing. Right now, many library locations have opened for limited hours. Members of the Yale community have a choice between contactless and mediated checkouts, and many study spaces are available. Librarian consultation services, workshops, and instruction remain remote until further notice.
This guide contains important information about connecting to a variety of library resources. In addition to the content on the guide, let me stress:
QuickSearch Books+ has faceted searching. If you are only looking for online content, after searching, please select "Online" under format. The Library has made significant updates to QuickSearch to facilitate users who need online-only materials.
Library staff are still here to support you in your teaching, learning, and research. Please contact me using the information on my profile (below). You may email or schedule a Zoom appointment.
This guide provides resources for undergraduate nonscientists and people who teach undergraduate nonscientists, based on questions from undergraduate students, TAs, and other people who need to use library resources.
In this guide, you will find:
Contemporary and historical information resources suitable for those writing non-quantitative physical sciences papers.
Detailed guidance on how to access Scientific American.
Research tips to get started with some of our resources.
My email and other contact information — just in case you need more guidance.
CREDO provides access to hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources using one unified search box. If you need basic information on a topic, it is an excellent academic resource that you can cite. There is also a mind map search.
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It covers topics across the history of science, technology, and medicine from prehistory to the present, with a strong collection of interdisciplinary research. Types of work in this database include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps, and additional materials.