It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For up-to-date information on COVID-19 and library services, including vaccination requirements, using special collections, and hybrid library services, please visit COVID Library Updates.More information about Yale's public health response is here. Masks are not required in library reading rooms, although masking is welcome and encouraged. Masks are required during in-person library workshops and classes, in compliance with Yale's masking policy.
Most library resources are available via a URL proxy prefix, but you can also download and install the VPN. Being connected to the VPN makes our electronic resources behave as if you were connected to YaleSecure.
Resources accessed from the library website and catalog will automatically use the off-campus access URL prefix. If you are off-campus, not on the VPN, and NOT accessing a resource through the library website, the prefix is https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url= ... and you would get to JSTOR by putting that in front of the JSTOR URL: https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://jstor.org
Sometimes, we have access to a resource through an aggregator, not the publisher's website. In those cases, checking the library website for access is very useful.
This guide provides resources for undergraduate nonscientists and people who teach undergraduate nonscientists, based on questions from undergraduate students, TAs, and other people who need to use library resources.
In this guide, you will find:
- Contemporary and historical information resources suitable for those writing non-quantitative physical sciences papers.
- Detailed guidance on how to access Scientific American.
- Research tips to get started with some of our resources.
- My email and other contact information — just in case you need more guidance.
CREDO provides access to hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources using one unified search box. If you need basic information on a topic, it is an excellent academic resource that you can cite. There is also a mind map search.
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It covers topics across the history of science, technology, and medicine from prehistory to the present, with a strong collection of interdisciplinary research. Types of work in this database include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps, and additional materials.
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. In-person and virtual (Zoom) appointments are both possible. Please note that Science Hill is a 15-minute walk from central campus, and there is a temporary entrance due to construction.
My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. During the semester (not during breaks!), I am onsite on Thursdays. I am OFFSITE most Mondays.
Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
219 Prospect Street
Kline Biology Tower