Quick Links
Find Articles (multiple databases)
Online Databases (science)
Scan on Demand Request Form
West Campus Delivery
Center For Science and Social Science Information
Hours
Browsing by Call Number in Orbis
Historical Sources
Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS. The First Fifty Years. The Evolution of a Major Science Information Service by William Campbell Steere with assistance from Phyllis V. Parkins and Hazel A. Philson. Biosciences Information Service of Biological Abstracts/Plenum Press, c1976. Library Shelving Facility QH303.4 U6 P487 1976
Selected New Book Additions (click on cover)
Major Resources and Tools
ORBIS - Online Catalog - books/journals in the Yale library system
Access Science - the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Agricola - U.S. agriculture literature citations, 1970-
Biobase Knowledge Library - gene regulation and protein related databases
BIOSIS Previews - (Biological Abstracts) International biology and botany citations. Coverage begins in 1926.
CAB Abstracts - worldwide agriculture literature citations
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols - Over 700 protocols from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press manuals.
Current Protocols - A database of over 9600 protocols from Wiley.
Darwin Online - complete publications of Charles Darwin
EcoSal - Escherichia coli and Salmonella: cellular and molecular biology
Encyclopedia of Biochemistry - a 2004 encyclopedia from Elsevier
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics - a 2005 encyclopedia from John Wiley & Sons
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - a multi-volume encyclopedia with frequent updates, from Wiley
Faculty of 1000 - journal article recommendations
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide - Citations in ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and marine biology, encompassing the culture, propagation, genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat of aquaculture species.
General Science Full-Text - citations to popular, English-language journals and magazines
Google Scholar - Search results complement BIOSIS results. Use Yale Fulltext links and note "Cited by" numbers. If no Yale Fulltext link appears try a manual search in Orbis; not all Yale library online content is reflected by the Yale Fulltext icon.
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry - 2012, 29th edition, from Mc-Graw Hill Medical
Medline - medical literature citations
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - a 2006 Oxford University Press book
PubMed - biomedical literature citations
ResearchGate - a popular, free aggregating service with 45 million abstracts and 10 million full-text papers. Can be browsed by subject area. Content is 34% biology, 29% medicine. From ResearchGate GmbH in Berlin, Germany.
SciFinder Scholar - (Chemical Abstracts) chemistry literature citations
Scopus - (includes links to citing articles) interdisciplinary
Springer Protocols - A database of over 11,000 protocols in the life sciences and biomedicine.
TREECD - Forest Science Database
Web of Science - (includes Science Citation Index) - includes cited reference searching, interdisciplinary; core journals covered
Zoological Record - zoology literature citations, 1864-
Tips and Help
AutoAlerts (updates from databases via email)
List of Journals Indexed for BIOSIS Previews
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool - for chemical titles
More Biology Reference Sources
DICTIONARIES
Access Science: McGraw-Hill Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (with McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Science and Technology)
Dictionary of Biology, 6th ed., 2008, edited by Elizabeth Martin and Robert S. Hine. Library Shelving Facility QH302.5 D54X 2008 (LC)
Henderson's Dictionary of Biology, 15th ed., edited by Eleanor Lawrence. Benjamin Cummings/Pearson, 2011 CSSSI QH302.5 H45X 2011 (LC)
Dictionary of Gene Technology: genomics, transcriptomics and proteomics, 4th ed. 3 volumes by Gunter Kahl. Wiley-VCH, 2009 CSSSI Reference QH442 K333 2009 (LC)
Glossary of Biotechnology Terms by Kimball R. Nill. CRC Press, 2002. In print at CSSSI TP248.16 F54X 2002 (LC)
ABSTRACTS OR INDEXES
BioLine, from BioLine International. Provides access to peer-reviewed research journals published in developing countries.
HANDBOOKS
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology, 9th ed., edited by John G. Holt et al. Williams & Wilkins, 1994. CSSSI Reference QRB47 1994 + Oversize, Medical Library QR81 B45 1994 + Oversize. Description and classification of all the bacteria cited in the world literature from class to species to subspecies. (Index Bergeyana is an alphabetical listing of the bacterial taxa CSSSI Reference QR81 I53)
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, 2nd ed., edited by D. R. Boone, R. W. Castenholz, and ed-in-chief George M. Garrity. CSSSI Reference QR81 B46 2001 (LC) + Oversize
Biology Data Book, 2nd ed., edited by Phillip L. Altman and Dorothy Dittmer. Federaton of American Societies of Experimental Biology,1972-74. 3 volumes CSSSI QH310 A38 1972, Library Shelving Facility QH310 A38 1972 (LC) + Oversize, Medical Library Reference 18 QH310 B56 1977 + Oversize
Biochemical Pathways: an atlas of biochemistry and molecular biology. 2nd ed. CSSSI QP171 B685X 2012 (LC)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. 2003. 17 volumes with Index. Discusses the life and natural history of animal groups. Illustrated.
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology by Diane Schmidt, Melody M. Allison, Kathleen A. Clark and others. Libraries Unlimited, 2006. 3rd ed. CSSSI Z5351 G85X 2006 (LC)
Guide to Reference and Information Sources in the Zoological Sciences by Diane Schmidt. Libraries Unlimited, 2003. CSSSI Reference Z7991 S36X 2003 (LC)
Related Departments and Libraries
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
Department of Anthropology (includes program in Biological Anthropology)
Center for Science and Social Science Information
Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library
Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Contact Information
203 432 6213
lori.bronars@yale.edu
Center for Science and Social Science Information
Kline Biology Tower
219 Prospect St.
New Haven, CT 06520-8111
Non-CSSSI office hours:
Tuesdays 9-10 am OML 1st floor break room by EEB Business Office
Fridays 9-10 am JWG 362A

Loading...
