Yale University Library Research Guides: Business & Management Research Guide: Welcome

Welcome

Start your business research with our collection of business resources at Yale Library.

Here, you will find links to library resources for:

company information
industry and market research
country and economic statistics
financial data
other helpful information

Looking for more specific information? Try searching our other business-related research guides.

Looking for help using our Business Databases, including Bloomberg & Morningstar Direct?

Using Library Resources

Researchers are responsible for ensuring that their use complies with the publishers' license agreements with Yale University.

Please refer to our guidance on E-Resources Access and Use and Appropriate Database Use for Internships and Other Non-Academic Experiences for more information.

A majority of our electronic resources now only require CAS-authentication for remote access.
However, select databases still require the use of the Yale VPN when users are off-campus, as indicated by this icon: .
These databases include Capital IQ and S&P RatingsDirect,

Yale Business Information & Research Update

New and featured business resources from Yale University Library.

Quick Links

Frequently used business databases

Capital IQ S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a yale email address. Individuals that do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
IBISWorld Features research reports that provide industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and projected performance, major industry participants, and more. Our subscription includes reports for the US (including State Reports and historical archive), Canada, Mexico, UK, and China. Over 70 global reports are also available.
PitchBook Company Information | Industry & Market Research | Data | Reports Features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. Requires users to sign in with an @Yale.edu email address. Users will be directed to the Yale CAS sign-in page. Do not click "Log in without SSO" even if you had an individual account previously. Commercial use is prohibited.
more...less...
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Accounts will automatically be reset annually on May 31.
LSEG Workspace Features market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here. This resource replaced Thomson ONE.
Statista An online statistics portal that provides acces to data from over 18,000 sources. Download data, charts, infographics, reports, and much more.

See all Business Databases here.

Popular Business News Publications

Bloomberg.com
FT.com
New York Times Online Current Yale students, faculty, and staff can register for access to the New York Times online.
Wall Street Journal Online (WSJ.com)
Washington Post Online

New & Updated Resources

Inside Philanthropy Reporting on philanthropic foundations and major donors. It also includes the Philanthropy Jobs Center and GrantFinder search tool. Requires users to register for an individual account.
Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet) Features data and information on sports markets, including consumer research, industry reports, and industry articles from industry publications. Covers sports participation, fan markets and behaviors, venues, sponsorships, expenditure on sporting goods, brand preference, and more.
Preqin - Updated Content Source for current and historical data and research on alternative investments. Now with coverage of Private Equity, Private Debt, Real Estate, Infrastructure, Natural Resources, and Hedge Funds. Insights+ premium publications are also included.
The Information Features exclusive reporting and newsletters on technology and business. Requires users to register for an individual account with a Yale email address. Please note: The Information Pro content is not included with academic or university subscriptions.
Revelio Labs (on WRDS) workforce database that provides insight into a company's positions and job postings. Data is sourced from LinkedIn and supplemented with aggregator sites like Indeed. Available data includes individual work history (Revelio Individual), Revelio Job Postings, which can be mapped to a company, employee reviews (Revelio Sentiment), and Revelio Workforce Dynamics. Depending on the product, coverage begins from 2007 - 2009. The Revelio data dictionary is available here.

Have questions? Ask us!

Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

Schedule an Appointment

Subjects: Business and Management, Economics, Ethics, Politics, and Economics

Business & Management Research Guide: Welcome