Legislative InformationPresidential InformationExecutive Orders and ProclamationsExecutive Branch InformationJudicial InformationCensus of Population and HousingRules and RegulationsBudgets and SpendingForeign RelationsDeclassified DocumentsU.S. Federal Archives (NARA)Patents and TrademarksStandards and SpecificationsGovernment Careers and DirectoriesGenealogy
United Nations Specialized AgenciesLeague of Nations
Climate and Climate ChangeTreaties
DNP OrientationN513c: Community Health NursingNURS 717: Contexts of CareNURS 941: Health Policy, Leadership, and Systems
This is the "Canadian Federal Government" page of the "Government Documents and Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Government Documents and Information   Tags: diplomacy, government, history, igo, international_affairs, international_relations, politics  

This guide is a portal to Yale's government information collections and related research tools.
Last Updated: Sep 1, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Canadian Federal Government Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Canadian Federal Documents Collection

Yale University became a selective depository for Canadian federal government documents in 1961. It is one of approximately 50 depository libraries for Canadian information in the United States.  Strengths of the collection include parliamentary debates and reports, royal commission reports, serials, atlases, statistical data, and executive agency annual reports. The Canadian federal government documents collection complements and supplements the secondary literature collection, most of which is housed in Sterling Memorial Library.

Beginning in 2012, the Government of Canada is transitioning to electronic-only for publications from the Publishing Program and publications provided by departments to the Depository Services Program.

Canadian federal government documents

  • Canadian Government Documents (Google custom search)
    Searches over 775 core domains at the Federal, Provincial and Municipal levels of government, including *.gc.ca, *.toronto.ca, *.ottawa.ca, www.ontario.ca/*, *.gov.nu.ca
  • Federal Publication Locator
    Provides bibliographic information about and access to Canadian federal government publications. To locate documents online, look for the "E-locations" line of the item record.
  • LEGISinfo
    Provides electronic access to a wide range of information on legislation before Parliament, such as details on the passage of the bill through the Senate and House of Commons, the text of the bill, votes, and legislative summaries. Coverage begins with the 37th Parliament in 2001.
  • Government of Canada
    The primary internet portal for information on the Government of Canada.
  • Parliament of Canada
    Web portal for the Senate and House of Commons.
  • Departments and Agencies
    An alphabetical listing of links to Government of Canada Departments, Agencies, Crown Corporations, Special Operating Agencies and various affiliated organizations.
  • Department and Agency Publication Web Pages
    Provides links to sources and information for obtaining copies of Government of Canada publications that are not available from Publishing and Depository Services.
  • Orbis (Yale Library Catalog)
    Use the Yale Library catalog to search for Canadian government documents in all formats. Many recent documents that are available online will not be in Orbis, so you'll probably want to try the Federal Publication Locator and the Canadian documents Google search, too.

Statistics and data

  • Statistics Canada
    Portal for statistical resources from the Canadian government, including data on population, resources, economy, society and culture.
  • Canada Business Network
    Current economic indicators for Canada.

Treaty information

Early Canadian government documents

  • Canada in the Making
    This online resource is built around the government documents collection of Early Canadiana Online and includes documents related to the following themes: Canada's Constitutional History, Aboriginals: Treaties and Relations, Pioneers and Immigrants.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Melanie Maksin

Have a Question About Government Information?

Search the Yale Library Government Documents FAQ:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip