It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
General suggestions for finding government information
1. Try the "agency approach." Who produces the information you need? How is this information organized and disseminated? If you can answer these questions, you can create a much more targeted, focused search.
2. Google like a pro. To limit your Google search to government websites, use the very powerful "site:" search. You can search all .gov websites (site:gov) or narrow your search to a particular agency's website (site:cdc.gov).
Three major resources for U.S. government information
FDsys, the Federal Digital System from the Government Printing Office (GPO), provides online access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. federal government, including the federal budget, congressional documents, the U.S. Code, and more. Coverage will vary by collection, but many publications are available in full text back to the 1990s.
More resources and strategies for finding congressional documents, information about representatives and senators, etc.
Additional resources for federal regulations
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations. It also includes executive orders and other presidential documents.
Federal Register: unofficial XML-based prototype of the daily Federal Register, organized and displayed in an easier to read format. Includes web tools and user aids designed to make it easier to understand and participate in the regulatory process.
CQ Weekly covers congressional activities, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity. Good for finding out latest developments on major legislation.
CQ Almanac provides narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation considered during a congressional session. Useful for tracing the progress of a bill and identifying bill numbers, hearing dates, report numbers.
CQ Researcher provides background and analysis of major policy issues.
Did you know that Yale Law Library has its own catalog? If you limit your search to Orbis, you won't see what's in the Law Library's collections. We recommend searching in MORRIS for legal materials, as well as books in a variety of social science disciplines.
NexisUni includes a mix of sources: newspapers, magazines, TV and radio transcripts, company and industry information, and legal information. From the main NexisUni interface, you can either enter a legal citation or topic to search (in any of the boxes on the first page)
An online tool from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin's Population Health Institute that aggregates data on health outcomes (morbidity, mortality) and health factors (behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, physical environment).
Data.census.gov is a platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. It combines several previous census tools like American Fact Finder, Census Business Builder, DataFerret and Current Population Survey. Contains data beginning in 2010.