Legislative InformationPresidential InformationExecutive Orders and ProclamationsExecutive Branch InformationJudicial InformationCensus of Population and HousingRules and RegulationsBudgets and SpendingForeign RelationsDeclassified DocumentsU.S. Federal Archives (NARA)Patents and TrademarksStandards and SpecificationsGovernment Careers and DirectoriesGenealogy
United Nations Specialized AgenciesLeague of Nations
Climate and Climate ChangeTreaties
DNP OrientationN513c: Community Health NursingNURS 717: Contexts of CareNURS 941: Health Policy, Leadership, and Systems
This is the "Genealogy" page of the "Government Documents and Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Government Documents and Information   Tags: diplomacy, government, history, igo, international_affairs, international_relations, politics  

This guide is a portal to Yale's government information collections and related research tools.
Last Updated: Sep 1, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Genealogy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Government information and genealogy research

Government documents, whether housed in the collections of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) or available through free or subscription databases, can be valuable sources for genealogists. These resources might also be used by researchers exploring demographic trends or tracking down biographical details about individuals.

Excellent starting point for genealogy research

  • NARA: Resources for Genealogists
    The National Archives and Records Administration guide to genealogy research provides many helpful tools and research strategies. NARA also provides access to digitized census records. For additional information about NARA's collections and what we have available here at Yale, please consult this guide.
 

Can I look up an individual in the census?

Access to individual census records is available from 1790-1940. There is a 72-year restriction on access to individual census records, so records from 1950 will become available in 2022.

Genealogy databases (Yale subscriptions)

These subscription databases, restricted by IP address to Yale University, include government information and related documentation of interest to genealogists.

  • Ancestry Library Edition
    United States and United Kingdom genealogical resources, including census, military, court, land, probate, vital, and church records; directories; passenger lists, and more; as well as some similar record collections from Canada and some European countries.
  • HeritageQuest Online
    Searchable images of U.S. federal census records, and extensive indexing, from the 1790-1930 U.S. federal censuses; Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files; Freedman’s Bank Records, and more.

Additional genealogy resources

Melanie Maksin

Profile Image
Librarian for Political Science, International Affairs, Public Policy, and Government Information
Contact Info
Center for Science and Social Science Information
219 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06520
phone: (203) 432-3310
Send Email
I am currently reading:
xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths (ed. Kate Bernheimer)

Have a Question About Government Information?

Search the Yale Library Government Documents FAQ:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip