It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive guide to primary source collections at Yale related to the study of American foreign relations. In addition to providing information about relevant manuscript and archival collections, this guide also highlights specific government documents.
Guide to primary and secondary sources for the study of American foreign relations, produced by ABC-Clio and the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR). The chapter on "Reference Works and Bibliographies" gives a good overview of the types of resources that foreign relations historians use, along with how/where to find these resources.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
"The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies." (U.S. Department of State, Office of the Historian)
This microfilm collection includes reports to the Department of State from U.S. diplomatic representatives stationed abroad. Years of coverage vary, but most documents are from the late 19th through early 20th centuries.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) & Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)
The FBIS Daily Reports provide English-language translations of broadcast transcripts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from countries around the world, 1941-1996. FBIS Daily Reports back to 1946 (except 1948-1952) are also available on microfilm and can be found in Orbis.
JPRS reports contain translations of "unclassified foreign documents, scholarly works, research reports, and other selected source materials" (JPRS Catalog Cards in Book Form). This link will take you to a search in Orbis for JPRS.
Try searching "All Collections" using JPRS as a keyword; you'll probably also want to narrow your search by country or region, but if you start with the very broad search, you'll begin to see how the reports are organized.
Use the Transdex index to identify the microfiche you need, then make a request ("Request recall or delivery") through this Orbis record. You can also request JPRS reports through Interlibrary Loan if what you need isn't available through DTIC or our microfiche collection.
Issued by the Department of State, 1939-1977 (weekly) and 1978-1989 (monthly). In addition to online access, Yale also has The Department of State Bulletin in print. "The Bulletin contains articles about the views of the United States in the areas of public and private international law. The Bulletin also contains articles about diplomatic missions around the world and the activities of the State Department." (Description from HeinOnline)
A wide selection of official statements, testimony, transcripts, foreign policy fact sheets, annual reports, previously published materials and country information. Some of the same documentation is available through the Department of State's archived website (1997-2001).
Index and microfiche collection of key documents from official government sources, including executive branch departments and offices, independent federal agencies, and the U.S. Congress, that make American foreign policy and conduct U.S. foreign relations.
The University of Illinois at Chicago has archived electronic State Department publications produced from 1990 to 1997. For the most current information and publications from the State Department, go to http://www.state.gov.