It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives Unbound contains collections of digitized historical documents on a wide variety of topics, from a wide variety of time periods. FBI files can be found in the following Archives Unbound collections:
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Federal Surveillance of African Americans 1920-1984
Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
To identify FBI records in History Vault, try an advanced search and select "Federal Bureau of Investigation" as Federal Agency.
FBI files on microfilm
In addition to the FBI files available online and in subscription databases, the Yale Library has many FBI files on microfilm. Note: some of these microfilm sets were digitized and included in the Archives Unbound collections mentioned above.
To identify FBI files in Orbis, try keyword searches like the following:
ezra pound fbi
highlander folk school fbi
To see all of the available files, try a subject search for United States. Federal Bureau of Investigation--Archives.
"The Freedom of Information Act allows any person—except fugitives, federal agencies, and foreign intelligence agencies—to request information about organizations, businesses, investigations, historical events, incidents, groups, or deceased persons."
"The Privacy Act allows U.S. citizens and lawfully admitted aliens to request information on themselves or another living person."
Information about requesting FBI records--your own or someone else's--through Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) or Privacy Act requests. Includes a sample FOIA request letter, what to expect when you've made a request, and more.