Yale University Library Research Guides: US Government Information: Genealogy

Government information and genealogy research

Government documents, whether housed in the collections of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) or available through free or subscription databases, can be valuable sources for genealogists. These resources might also be used by researchers exploring demographic trends or tracking down biographical details about individuals.

Can I look up an individual in the census?

Access to individual census records is available from 1790-1940. There is a 72-year restriction on access to individual census records, so records from 1950 will become available in 2022.

Excellent starting points for genealogy research

NARA: Resources for Genealogists
The National Archives and Records Administration guide to genealogy research provides many helpful tools and research strategies. NARA also provides access to digitized census records. For additional information about NARA's collections and what we have available here at Yale, please consult this guide.
CDC: Where to Write for Vital Records
A state-by-state listing of information about obtaining vital records (births, deaths, marriages, divorces).

Genealogy databases

Ancestry Library Edition
United States and United Kingdom genealogical resources, including census, military, court, land, probate, vital, and church records; directories; passenger lists, and more; as well as some similar record collections from Canada and some European countries.
Family Search
Free genealogy search tools that explores many government sources, local and beyond, that also includes international searches