Yale University Library Research Guides: ENGL 375: Wayward Lines: Black Feminist Literature and Theory: Home

Welcome!

Here you will find a series of primary and secondary resources in English literature, African American Studies, and History that might be helpful to you as a student in ENGL 375 Wayward Lines: Black Feminist Literature and Theory. Resources are organized by tabs at the top of this page. Under each tab, you will find information about how to search for each particular type of resource, as well as a selection of frequently used resources of that type. For example, under the Electronic Databases tab, you will find both links to Yale's database search portal, as well as important resources, like the ProQuest database Black Studies Center. If you have any questions, or would like research help, please do not hesitate to use the contact information in the box below to email me or sign up for office hours!

Key Reference Resources

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association Bibliography is an index updated annually by the Modern Language Association which provides key books, articles, and dissertations related to literary and literary-adjacent topics. **Note: the MLA Bib is an index, meaning you must look up books in Yale Library's catalog; similarly, some indexed journals cannot be accessed via Yale Links and must be searched for in the library's catalog.
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in across varied subject areas. **Note: This is a useful resource since each entry compiles a list of essential reading for different aspects of a given topic; each suggested reading is accompanied by a small summary, making this a good tool for finding the standard works of scholarship for a given topic/idea/person/etc.
Oxford Reference
Brings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas. Includes research tools: timelines, quotations, and subject overviews. **Note: Oxford Reference is a useful resource if you are looking for DEFINITIONS.
Cambridge Core
Provides access to Cambridge University Press' book and journal content on one platform, including its Cambridge companions, Cambridge histories, and handbooks. **Note: Each entry provides a useful bibliography at the end, which provides further sources. Cited articles are hyperlinked for direct access.

Library Discovery Tools

Quick Search
Quick Search is Yale Library's main discovery portal. Use it to search Books+, Journal Articles, Databases, and Digital Collections.
Orbis
Yale Library's main catalog search interface. Use it to search for books, journals, and special collections items.
Morris
Morris is Yale Law Library's catalog. Use it to search for books, journals, and special collections related to law and adjacent subjects. *Note: searching Morris only yields results from the Law Library collections.
Archives at Yale
Archives at Yale is the main search portal for searching for special collections materials held at Manuscripts & Archives and the Beinecke.

How to start the research process: some suggestions!

Depending on the topic you are considering, you may want to begin your research either with a specialized resource that provides access to books and journals covering literary criticism and literary sources, like the MLA Bibliography, or with a more general resource covering a broad array of topics and giving a general overview of the subject, like Oxford Bibliographies and Cambridge Core.
A good place to find definitions and to access general reference texts, whether historical or literary, is Oxford Reference.
If you are looking for general articles pertaining to a topic, a good place to begin is the database Articles+.
When searching the library catalog, begin a general topic search either by performing a keyword search or by searching by subject, then use the facets in the list of results to further narrow down the scope of your topic.

Librarian

Carla Baricz

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

Sterling Memorial Library 311C

203-432-1761

Subjects: English

ENGL 375: Wayward Lines: Black Feminist Literature and Theory: Home

Welcome!

Key Reference Resources

Library Discovery Tools

How to start the research process: some suggestions!

Librarian

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries