ProQuest News & Newspapers provides access to a number of newspapers and periodicals from the Black press, for example: the Atlanta daily world (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago defender (1910-1975), Michigan chronicle (1939-2010), and Minneapolis star tribune (1867-2001). The database is searchable by individual newspaper as well as across multiple papers. For a keyword search select "Anywhere" from the drop-down menu to include multiple search fields.

This resource offers a mix of primary and secondary source material, some of which is also available via other databases (i.e. the History Makers)."Black Studies Center provides resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index to Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender (full text, 1910-1975), and Black literature index. Additional modules: ProQuest dissertations for Black studies; The HistoryMakers (a filmed archive of oral history interviews); full text of additional historical Black newspapers; and Black abolitionist papers. It includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles.".

"The HistoryMakers is an video oral history archive dedicated to preserving African American history as the missing link in American history. Focused on American history, oral history and education in general and more specifically on African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion&beauty, business, the military, politics and sports, The History Makers is a combination archive, library, museum, stock footage collection, on-line educator and educational PBS/TV programming. Its topics include but are not limited to African American organizations and associations, slavery, reconstruction, the labor movement, the civil rights movement and black authors."

Browse by topic using the drop-down menu at the top of the main page or by individual using the "history maker" drop-down menu.