The MLA Bibliography allows you to search for books, articles, and dissertations related to literary studies. An Advanced Search will allow you to search by "Primary Subject Author" and "Primary Subject Work," as well as by keyword, meaning that you can search for scholarship about a particular writer or a particular work along with a thematic or topical keyword. 

Oxford bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

The bibliography is browsable by topics relating to African American Studies or can be searched by keyword. A great feature of this resource is that each bibliography is broken down by sub-topic and each includes links to all online content available via Yale Library. Each entry also provides a summary of the recommended title. 

From the publisher: "The Black Studies Periodicals Database, formerly known as International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), is a major periodical database on Black Studies and culture. The Black Studies Periodicals Database has the largest backfile of retrospective bibliographic citations for Black periodicals from as early as 1902. The Black Studies Periodicals Database covers journals and magazines from the United States, African nations, and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline."

To search by topic or keyword, select advanced search and enter the search term, using "anywhere" in the drop-down menu of search filters. Before searching, further narrow down your search parameters by selecting a "Source Type"--i.e. historical newspapers-- and document type--i.e. article. Try broader searches first!

"ProQuest Black Studies combines newspapers, archival collections and journals in a single, browsable destination. [The] comprehensive collection is designed for teaching and researching the history and lives of Black history and culture in the U.S." "Includes records from the archives of key civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)."

The database allows you to search for historical newspapers or to browse primary source resources related to a particular topic, for example to look at the "Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972." You can also browse by individual to get a biography and related resources. The database also includes an archive of video footage.