Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Library Special Collections: Policies & Procedures

Finding and using archives, manuscripts, rare books and scores, and other special collections at the Music Library.

 

Because of the pandemic, our special collections are currently open only to Yale students in residence, faculty, and staff. When circumstances return to normal, they will again become available to researchers from around the world.

Also because of the pandemic, researchers will now use our special collections in the Manuscripts & Archives Reading Room (just down the hall from the Music Library in Sterling Memorial Library). For information about services in the MSSA Reading Room (and to reserve a seat), see their guide.

Music Library staff are available to advise researchers; contact us at musicspecialcollections@yale.edu.

You can request special collections directly from the catalogs where you look them up. When you’ve found the item you want in Archives at Yale, Orbis, or Quicksearch, just click the Request link.

Some of our archival collections have not yet been fully processed, so they don’t appear in the Finding Aid Database. For more information, please contact us at musicspecialcollections@yale.edu.

A few of the Music Library's most important holdings are shelved across the street, at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. To study these items, please consult the Beinecke Library directly.

 

Subject Guide

Richard Boursy's picture
Richard Boursy
Contact:
Gilmore Music Library
Sterling Memorial Library
Virtual office hours: 8-30 AM–5:00 PM