Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Music Library Special Collections: Order Reproductions

Finding and using archives, manuscripts, rare books and scores, and other special collections at the Music Library.

Order Reproductions

The Irving S. Gilmore Music Library, including Historical Sound Recordings (HSR) and Oral History of American Music (OHAM), provides broad access to its collection materials for personal research use, teaching, and educational purposes, under the fair use clause of United States copyright law.

Reproductions of items from the library's archival collections can be requested by completing the Reproduction Request Form below. The form can be completed, signed and submitted online. If you have any questions, please contact musicspecialcollections@yale.edu

Please note that the Music Library is currently piloting a new service to support digitization of its collections. While orders can be placed at this time, order processing will not begin until 05/03/2021. You will receive a confirmation email once the processing or your order begins. Turnaround time after confirmation to digitize the materials requested is 4-6 weeks.  

Request Reproductions

Reproduction Request Form

DOCUMENTS

Turnaround time and delivery

  • Approximately 4-6 weeks from the time your order is confirmed
  • Files will be delivered electronically

Order Limits

  • Bound Volumes: Book, non-illuminated: Up to 600 pages from 2 volumes
  • Oversize Items (e.g. maps, posters, blueprints - larger than 24 x 18 inches): 15-20 items
  • Unbound Documents: Up to 4 folders
  • Photographs & Prints: Up to 600 prints
  • Pamphlets: Up to 600 pages from 1-4 pamphlets

Formats

  • Scans of paper materials are provided as 400 ppi color PDFs. All pages are combined into a single PDF file for each volume / folder of material requested. If you require higher quality images or different formats, please contact musicspecialcollections@yale.edu
  • Copies of materials that are already in digital form (born digital), will be provided in their native format.

Costs

  • Orders for document scans are free at this time as we are piloting a new service to support digitization of Music Special Collections. Charges for this service may be implemented once this pilot is complete.  

AUDIOVISUAL

  • Audiovisual materials are digitized in line with Yale University Library's digitization guidelines.
  • A quote for this request will be emailed to you for approval before the materials are sent to a vendor for digitization
  • Turnaround time is approximately 6-8 weeks
  • If the materials requested are already available digitally, you will be contacted with an offer to stream the recordings for 30 days, free of charge.

Oral History of American Music (OHAM)

For information on accessing OHAM materials, please see the OHAM Collections Guide.