Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See
COVID-19 library updates.
Major Resources for Identifying Journal Articles in Science
Large database for biology and botany citations and abstracts. 1926-. International in coverage. > 26 million citations.
Database of applied biology citations and abstracts. International coverage. 1915-. Over 11 million records.
Collection of databases with signed articles on medicine and health care.
Compendex or Engineering Village
Major database for engineering journal citations. International in coverage.
Citations to the international literature of geology.
Public health citations 1910-.
Multidisciplinary. For biology, search results complement BIOSIS Previews.
Large government database for biomedical citations to journal articles.
Large, international database for chemistry journal article citations and abstracts. 1907-.
Database for biomedical or interdisciplinary topics (1823-). International in coverage.
Topic reviews in medicine, written by faculty experts.
Web of Science
Database covering core journals in all science fields. Good for interdisciplinary topics. International. 1900-. Cited reference searching possible.
Database for zoology and natural history journal citations. International in coverage. 1864-.
Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences
Managing Your Literature Citations