Skip to main content

AFAM 201 / RLST 101: Politics of Black Religion: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Nicole Turner's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your research assignments this semester.

Main search portals

Hathi Trust Emergency Temporary Access Service

Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection.  Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).

A short video on the Hathi Trust ETAS can be found here, and a library guide here.

Internet Archive

Catalog records for e-books from the Internet Archive can be found through Orbis and Quicksearch. The Internet Archive is currently making books in its collection available to one borrower at a time. To use the Internet Archive, borrowers will need to create an Internet Archive account.

Scan and Deliver & Interlibrary Loan

The library now offers limited Scan & Deliver service. However, turnaround time for these services may be significantly delayed, and the fulfillment of Interlibrary Loan scan requests is dependent on our partner libraries. We ask that you prioritize requesting items that are the most urgent for your research. At this time, BorrowDirect and physical interlibrary loan services are suspended until further notice.

 

General Resources in African American Religious History

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading; often they cite not only the secondary literature, but also primary sources.

Surveys and anthologies are also useful starting points for research, and some of these sources are listed here, too.

Resources on Historical Research & Writing

Library contacts

Suzanne Estelle-Holmer, Associate Director for Research, Collections, and Access, Divinity Library

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History