It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searches the books, e-books, journals, government documents, and other physical and digital items owned by the library. Individual journal articles are not retrieved by the search. Can be used to find both primary and secondary sources.
A combined search of the library's books, journal articles, databases, and more. Searches Orbis as well as Morris, which is the Law Library catalog. Consider this a Google-like search of a vast amount of resources, but keep in mind some library materials are not indexed by the search. The search refinements and availability of multiple search fields are key to limiting the usually large number of results and finding the most relevant sources.
An engaging introduction to what primary sources are, how to find them, and what some of the major primary source collections are at the Yale University Library. Provides an excellent overview.
Hathi Trust Emergency Temporary Access Service
Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection. Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).
A short video on the Hathi Trust ETAS can be found here, and a library guide here.
Catalog records for e-books from the Internet Archive can be found through Orbis and Quicksearch. The Internet Archive is currently making books in its collection available to one borrower at a time. To use the Internet Archive, borrowers will need to create an Internet Archive account.
Scan and Deliver & Interlibrary Loan
The library now offers limited Scan & Deliver service. However, turnaround time for these services may be significantly delayed, and the fulfillment of Interlibrary Loan scan requests is dependent on our partner libraries. We ask that you prioritize requesting items that are the most urgent for your research. At this time, BorrowDirect and physical interlibrary loan services are suspended until further notice.
General Resources in African American Religious History
Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading; often they cite not only the secondary literature, but also primary sources.
Surveys and anthologies are also useful starting points for research, and some of these sources are listed here, too.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.