It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of American Religions by J. Gordon Melton (Editor)Presents coverage of more than 2,500 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada, from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Entries contain essays and directory listings that describe the historical development of religious families and give factual information about each group within those families, including, where available, headquarter location, membership figures, a listing of educational facilities and information on periodicals published by the group.
Call Number: BL2525 M449 1996 (Starr Main Reference Room)
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Charles H. Lippy (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor)A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life, Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. Edited by well-known experts in the field, the Encyclopedia covers all the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day.
Call Number: BL2520 .E52X 2010 (Starr Main Reference room)
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Billy Graham consulting with President Lyndon B. Johnson (date unknown).
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States by Bill J. Leonard (Editor); Jill Y. Crainshaw (Editor)This book provides a thorough introduction to historical and contemporary issues in American religion, tackling controversial hot-button topics such as abortion, Intelligent Design, and Scientology. Surveying key aspects of the controversial issues, persons, and religious groups of today, Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States, Second Edition is a thorough update and expansion of the first edition of this book. This two-volume work contains many new entries that reflect current 21st-century religious controversies. Written by a variety of scholars with varying specializations, the content covers major people, ideas, terms, institutions, groups, books, and events. The A-Z format allows for easy location of materials, a chronology of developments and events enables readers to trace the development of contentious topics over time, and a section of primary document excerpts gives readers further perspective on the issues.
Publication Date: 2012-12-05
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and American Politics by Corwin Smidt (Editor); Lyman Kellstedt (Editor); James L. Guth (Editor)Religion is, and has always been, a powerful force in American politics. Over the past three decades, the study of religion and politics has gone from being ignored by the scholarly community to being a major focus of research. Yet, because this important research is not easily accessible to nonspecialists, much of the analysis of religion's role in the political arena that we read in the media is greatly oversimplified. This Handbook seeks to bridge that gap by examining the considerable research that has been conducted to this point and assessing what has been learned, what remains unsettled due to conflicting research findings, and what important questions remain largely unaddressed by current research endeavors. This volume enlists noted scholars in the field to write essays that examine a particular subject area that: (a) assess the "state of the art" within that area; (b)review important findings, insights, and theoretical advances; (c) outline the current debates that engage scholarly attention; and, (d) raise some important, but currently understudied, questions. Thus, the authors review previous work, explain the findings of that research, and speculate about the bases of the various findings related to that topic, with each essay containing an excellent bibliography. The Handbook is unique to the field of religion and American politics and should be of wide interest to scholars, students, journalists, and others interested in the American political scene.
Publication Date: 2009-08-19
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History by Kathryn Gin Lum (Editor); Paul Harvey (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History brings together a number of established scholars, as well as younger scholars on the rise, to provide a scholarly overview for those interested in the role of religion and race in American history. Thirty-four scholars from the fields of History, Religious Studies, Sociology, Anthropology, and more investigate the complex interdependencies of religion and race from pre-Columbian origins to the present. The volume addresses the religious experience, social realities, theologies, and sociologies of racialized groups in American religious history, as well as the ways that religious myths, institutions, and practices contributed to their racialization. Part One begins with a broad introductory survey outlining some of the major terms and explaining the intersections of race and religions in various traditions and cultures across time. Part Two provides chronologically arranged accounts of specific historical periods that follow a narrative of religion and race through four-plus centuries. Taken together, The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History provides a reliable scholarly text and resource to summarize and guide work in this subject, and to help make sense of contemporary issues and dilemmas.
Publication Date: 2018-04-02
Religion and Politics: A Reference Handbook by John W. Storey; Glenn H. Utter; Mildred Vasan (Editor)Focusing on religions such as Islam and Buddhism, this volume shows how religion influences politics and vice versa. Delving into such subjects as the separation of church and state in the United States, the domination of the state by religion in Iran, and the control of religion by the state in China, this survey illuminates cultural differences. This book gives a revealing look at the numerous relationships between religion and politics. In the Church of England, for example, the 26 most senior Anglican bishops have seats in the House of Lords. Religion and Politics also includes biographical sketches of thinkers and doers whose careers intersected religion and politics in significant ways, from the Berrigan brothers to Osama bin Laden. Also included are data and quotes, a directory of politically active religious groups, and a 150 page annotated bibliography. Further research is aided by annotated listings of print and nonprint resources, websites, and organizations affiliated with the religious right as well as those in opposition Biographies of significant men and women and an up-to-date chronology illuminate the issues.