It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the Fall 2021 semester, we have currently been advised that we should offer some in-person consultation options, depending on your preference. I am offering remote only consultations (via Zoom) on Mondays and Thursdays. You will have the option of remote or in-person consultations on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Click the Schedule Appointment button on this page below my photo.
Most library resources are available via a URL proxy prefix, but you can also download and install the VPN. Being connected to the VPN makes our electronic resources behave as if you were connected to YaleSecure.
Resources accessed from the library website and catalog will automatically use the off-campus access URL prefix. If you are off-campus, not on the VPN, and NOT accessing a resource through the library website, the prefix is https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url= ... and you would get to JSTOR by putting that in front of the JSTOR URL: https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://jstor.org
Yale Library is piloting something called Lean Library Access for the fall semester that makes accessing resources more seamless from off-campus. Zotero also has a plugin feature that can automatically save the proxy prefix. View more info on the remote access page.
Sometimes, we have access to a resource through an aggregator, not the publisher's website. In those cases, checking the library website for access is very useful.
Yale University Library has just done a major website redesign. If you are having difficulties locating something you need that was on the old website, please email me.
Open access to 1,497,979 preprints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics. Here is a direct link to astro-ph; here is a direct link to gr-qc. Not all arXiv papers have been peer reviewed; many authors will update their papers once they have been accepted to a journal.
The ADS is for anyone working in cosomology, astrophysics, and related disciplines — and it mirrors content from the arXiv. It is used to locate articles, gray literature, and other content. When you search, the tools and filters allow you to drill down to what you want — be it a set of papers related to a specific data archive or on a specific topic (see the concept cloud under the EXPLORE drop-down menu). Documentation on advanced search is available on the ADS help page.
CREDO provides access to hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources using one unified search box. If you need basic information on a topic, it is an excellent academic resource that you can cite. There is also a mind map search.
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It covers topics across the history of science, technology, and medicine from prehistory to the present, with a strong collection of interdisciplinary research. Types of work in this database include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps, and additional materials.
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. Appointments will happen using Zoom or other videoconferencing software. Zoom has a phone option for those who need to call in. Depending on current pandemic restrictions and library policy, an in-person option may be available in the scheduler.
My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. I am OFFSITE most Mondays and Thursdays.
Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
219 Prospect Street
Kline Biology Tower