Yale University Library Research Guides: PHYS/ASTR 040: Expanding Ideas of Time and Space: Home

Important Updates

If you are not on campus right now, please visit our remote access page.

Most library resources are available via a URL proxy prefix, but you can also download and install the VPN. Being connected to the VPN makes our electronic resources behave as if you were connected to YaleSecure.
Resources accessed from the library website and catalog will automatically use the off-campus access URL prefix. If you are off-campus, not on the VPN, and NOT accessing a resource through the library website, the prefix is https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url= ... and you would get to JSTOR by putting that in front of the JSTOR URL: https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://jstor.org
Sometimes, we have access to a resource through an aggregator, not the publisher's website. In those cases, checking the library website for access is very useful.

We have a purchase request form if you need something that is not currently available. For questions about open access publishing, information about our open access memberships is available here.

An Introduction

Image credit: NASA, ESA, and The Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA) / Public domain

Welcome

This guide is a custom introduction to library resources for PHYS 040 (ASTR 040), Expanding Ideas of Time and Space: An Introduction to Relativity, Cosmology and the Universe

In this guide, you will find:

Information on how to locate and cite sources for your papers.
Detailed guidance on how to access Scientific American and other key resources.
My email and other contact information — just in case you need more guidance.

Video Intro to the Guide

Hello! If you want to view a video introduction to this guide, follow this link.

Note: You will have to log in with your netID to see the video.

In a Hurry? Top Resources!

arXiv
Open access to 1,497,979 preprints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics. Here is a direct link to astro-ph; here is a direct link to gr-qc. Not all arXiv papers have been peer reviewed; many authors will update their papers once they have been accepted to a journal.
Astrophysics Data System
The ADS is for anyone working in cosomology, astrophysics, and related disciplines — and it mirrors content from the arXiv. It is used to locate articles, gray literature, and other content. When you search, the tools and filters allow you to drill down to what you want — be it a set of papers related to a specific data archive or on a specific topic (see the concept cloud under the EXPLORE drop-down menu). Documentation on advanced search is available on the ADS help page.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries: Credo Reference
CREDO provides access to hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources using one unified search box. If you need basic information on a topic, it is an excellent academic resource that you can cite. There is also a mind map search.
Historical: History of Science, Technology & Medicine
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It covers topics across the history of science, technology, and medicine from prehistory to the present, with a strong collection of interdisciplinary research. Types of work in this database include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps, and additional materials.
Scientific American
Please see the tab on Scientific American or click the above link to read more about our access.

Science Research Support Librarian

Kayleigh Bohemier

Email Me

Contact:

Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. In-person and virtual (Zoom) appointments are both possible. Please note that Science Hill is a 15-minute walk from central campus, and there is a temporary entrance due to construction.

My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. During the semester (not during breaks!), I am onsite on Thursdays. I am OFFSITE most Mondays.

———

Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
Office C41
219 Prospect Street
Concourse Level
Kline Biology Tower

203-432-9519

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Earth & Planetary Sciences, Physics and Astronomy

PHYS/ASTR 040: Expanding Ideas of Time and Space: Home