Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ornithology - Selected Library Resources: Home

This guide identifies reference works, other library resources, key classic books and major Internet sites for studies on birds.

Welcome

Welcome to the Ornithology Subject Guide. In this guide, you'll find:

  • Links to major databases for identifying journal literature on birds
  • Links to selected Internet sites on birds
  • Links to key journals held in the Yale libraries or the Ornithology Library
  • Links to resources for finding bird species characteristics such as distribution maps or vocalizations

Ornithology Library

 

Hours: Tuesdays 4-7 pm

and Fridays 12-7 pm

Non-circulating collection

ornithology.library@yale.edu

203 436 4892

Staff: Jorge de Leon

Location: 1st floor Class of 1954 Environmental Science Center

21 Sachem St.

New Haven, CT

 

Managing Your Literature Citations

 

Free accounts for EndNote Online and RefWorks can be created at the citation management LibGuide. It is at http://www.library.yale.edu/

citationmanagement. EndNote desktop can be downloaded for Yale affiliates

at http://www.yale.edu/software .

Purchase Request

To submit a collections purchase request to the library click here: Purchase Request. A library selector will be in touch with you.

Selected Books on Ornithology at the Libraries (click on covers & arrows)

Databases, Indexes, or Bibliographies

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Lori Bronars's picture
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science & Social Science Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library

non-Marx Library office hours:
Mondays 1:30-2:30 pm YSB Marsh Lecture Hall Lobby
Tuesdays 9-10 am 1st floor break room OML
Fridays 1:30-2:30 pm BASS 205
203 432 6213

Local Resources for Ornithology

YuBio - Yale Biodiversity Citizen Science Initiative (bird observations around Yale campus) 2013-

Kristof Zyskowski, Collections Manager, Vertebrate Zoology, Peabody Museum of Natural History

Professor Rick Prum, William Robertson Coe Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Curator, Vertebrate Zoology, Peabody Museum of Natural History, Professor, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies

New Haven Bird Club

Blog of bird sightings at Yale's West Campus