This subsection offers resources for various exegetical approaches to Hebrew Bible studies. Use the drop-down menu for information on select hermeneutic approaches.
The Prophetic Literature: An Introduction by
A comprehensive introduction to the prophetic literature. Petersen takes into account the major advances in current research as he examines both the literature of the latter prophets (Isaiah-Malachi) as well as the Hebrew texts that describe the work and words of Israel's earlier prophets (e.g., Elijah and Elisha in 1 & 2 Kings).
Old Testament Wisdom: An Introduction by
Readable and reliable midlevel introduction.
The Wisdom Books by
Includes a new translation of the wisdom literature in the Hebrew Bible with commentary.
The Pentateuch: An Introduction to the First Five Books of the Bible by
A classic introduction to the first five books of the Bible.
The Historical Books by
An introduction to the Historical Books of the Hebrew Bible.
"New" approaches to exegesis emerge constantly, while old ones are revamped.
The titles or names of exegetical methods convey minimal information. Evaluate exegetical methods by these criteria:
To start out, consult an overview of exegetical methods like the following:
Biblical Hermeneutics by
Offers entry-level students a framework for interpreting the Bible.
The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation by
Contains essays on various approaches to biblical studies (postcolonial, political, feminist, etc.).
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation by
A methodology compilation volume with articles on popular interpreters and their methods, with theological / philosophical context to understand both. Compares approaches and conceptual models. Subject bibliographies.
Handbook of Biblical Criticism by
Designed to be a starting point for understanding the vast array of methods, approaches and technical terms employed in biblical studies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
Two volumes. Each entry includes bibliography and cross-references to other relevant entries. Focuses on methods of Biblical interpretation. Online available.
Biblical Exegesis: A Beginner's Handbook by
A concise introduction to exegesis.
Interpreting the Old Testament by
Written and edited by evangelical scholars. Provides practical help to students as they seek to interpret and apply the Hebrew Bible.
Old Testament Exegesis by
Intended for students. Approaches examined include text literary criticism, transmission historical, form critical, traditional historical, and historical setting determination.
Interpreting Hebrew Poetry by
A short introduction to this discussion of parallelism, meter and rhythm, and poetic style. It also provides by way of example a poetic analysis of Deuteronomy 32, Isaiah 5:1-7, and Psalm 1.
The Dynamics of Biblical Parallelism by
Analyzes parallelism, a major feature of Hebrew poetry, from a linguistic perspective.
The Idea of Biblical Poetry: Parallelism and Its History by
Offers a thorough history of the idea of biblical poetry, starting with Philo of Alexandria and Josephus in the first century C.E. and charting its development through the Church Fathers, medieval Jewish writers, the Christian Hebraists of the Renaissance, and on into modern times.
The Art of Biblical Poetry by
A companion to the seminal The Art of Biblical Narrative, this book investigates the use of Hebrew poetry in the Bible.
Reading Biblical Poetry by
A companion to Reading Biblical Narrative, this volume provides an authoritative introduction and overview to biblical poetry. Fokkelman describes in step-by-step fashion how the poets produced their poetry.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved