Yale University Library Research Guides: Hebrew Bible Interpretation I &amp; II: Home

Introduction

This subject guide is designed for students of Hebrew Bible Interpretation I & II.

Here you will find:

- Call Numbers for finding Bible Commentaries

- Hebrew Bible editions and translations

- One volume biblical commentaries and commentary series

- Resources for different interpretational approaches

- Lists of relevant bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries and concordances

- ATLA Religion Database scripture search video tutorial

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS Offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS). Includes option of searching for resource using Scripture Citation.
Old Testament Abstracts Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Religious and Theological Abstracts Indexes a number of scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. Each article is given a brief English abstract summarizing its content.

Introduction to the Hebrew Bible (Online) by John J. Collins Proceeds through the canon of the Old Testament and the apocrypha, judiciously presenting the state of historical, archaeological, and literary understanding of the biblical text, and engaging the student in questions of significance and interpretation for the contemporary world.
- This link opens in a new window
A History of Ancient Israel and Judah by J. Maxwell Miller; John H. Hayes Constructs a history of ancient Israel and Judah through a thorough investigation of epigraphical, archaeological, and biblical sources.
Introduction to the Bible by Christine Hayes Examines the 24 books of the Hebrew Bible, reconstructing the meanings and messages of each book.
- This link opens in a new window
The Hebrew Bible: A Critical Companion by John Barton (Editor) Covers every major genre of book in the Old Testament together with in-depth discussions of major themes such as human nature, covenant, creation, ethics, ritual and purity, sacred space, and monotheism.