Single-volume Bible Commentaries usually treat the entire Bible, so they will be less detailed than volumes in a series that treat a book or part of a book of the Bible. Keep this in mind when using a one-volume commentary. Single-volume commentaries typically highlight particular themes or concerns.
Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible by
Tries to summarize the best of modern scholarship on the sixty-six biblical books plus the Apocrypha.
HarperCollins Bible Commentary - Revised Edition by
Covers all of the Hebrew Bible, as well as the books of the Apocrypha and those of the New Testament.
New Collegeville Bible Commentary by
Brings together every volume of the New Collegeville Bible Commentary series into a single, accessible guide to the Bible.
The Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century by
A revision of the New Jerome Biblical Commentary, featuring the leading international Catholic scholars of our day.
The Oxford Bible Commentary by
A Bible study and reference work that offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible by the world's leading biblical scholars.
Women's Bible Commentary by
Introduces and summarizes each book of the Bible and comments on those sections of each book that have particular relevance to women
Commentary series offer in-depth investigations (with a variety of approaches, interests, and goals) of individual Hebrew Bible books according to consistent editorial standards.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries (Online Database) by
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and form one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars.
Ancient Christian Commentary of Scripture by
Provides texts from ancient church writers on biblical passages. Most passages are short and designed to point you to read the full text for yourself.
Belief: A Theological Commentary on the Bible
Focuses less on traditional historical and literary angles in favor of a theologically focused commentary that considers the contemporary relevance of the texts. Includes volumes on Genesis, 1 and 2 Samuel, Deuteronomy, Job, Lamentations and Song of Songs, Proverbs and Ecclesiastes.
Forms of the Old Testament Literature by
A series of volumes that seeks to present a form-critical analysis of books of the Hebrew Bible. Includes volumes on all books of the Hebrew Bible.
Hermeneia Series: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible (Online)
Mostly focused on New Testament and prophetic and wisdom literature in Hebrew Bible.
International Critical Commentary
Includes volumes on Exodus 1-18, Ecclesiastes, Isaiah 56-66, Lamentations, Isaiah 40-55, Jeremiah, Esther.
JPS Torah Commentary
Guides readers through the words and ideas of the Torah. Includes volumes on all books of the Pentateuch.
New International Commentary on the Old Testament
A commentary series written by broadly evangelical authors. Includes individual volumes on the Pentateuch and the Deuteronomistic History, as well as the prophets and writings.
Old Testament Library by
This series offers authoritative commentary on every book and major aspect of the Old Testament.
Wisdom Commentary Series
Offers detailed feminist interpretation of every book of the Bible. Includes volumes on Judith, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Proverbs, Lamentations, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Ruth, Song of Songs, Haggai-Malachi, Leviticus and 2 Kings.
Word Biblical Commentary
A commentary series from a broadly evangelical perspective. Includes volumes on all books of the Hebrew Bible.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved