Yale University Library Research Guides: Hebrew Bible Interpretation I &amp; II: Handbooks

Hebrew Bible Overviews

The Biblical World by John Barton (Editor) A comprehensive guide to the contents, historical settings and social context of the Bible.
The Blackwell Companion to the Hebrew Bible by Leo G. Perdue (Editor) Offers a broad overview and survey of Hebrew Bible study. Explores the history, archaeology, theology, sociology, and ancient Near Eastern context of the Hebrew Bible.
The Cambridge Companion to the Hebrew Bible and Ethics by C. L. Crouch (Editor) Addresses the Hebrew Bible's historical and literary contexts and identify key social, political, and cultural factors affecting their ethical ideas.

The Cambridge Companion to Genesis by Bill T. Arnold (Editor) Summarizes key developments in Biblical scholarship of Genesis since the Enlightenment, while offering an overview of the diverse methods and reading strategies that are currently applied to the reading of the book.
The Oxford Handbook of the Pentateuch (Online) by Joel S. Baden (Editor); Jeffrey Stackert (Editor) Provides a comprehensive survey of key topics and issues in contemporary pentateuchal scholarship.

The Oxford Handbook of Isaiah (Online) by Lena-Sofia Tiemeyer (Editor) Covers the formation, interpretations, and reception of the book of Isaiah.
The Oxford Handbook of the Prophets (Online) by Carolyn Sharp (Editor) Features wide-ranging discussion of ancient Near Eastern social and cultic contexts; exploration of focused topics such as the persona of the prophet and the problem of violence in prophetic rhetoric; sophisticated historical and literary analysis of key prophetic texts; issues in reception history; feminist, materialist, and postcolonial readings engaging the insights of influential contemporary theorists.
The Oxford Handbook of the Minor Prophets (Online) by Julia M. O'Brien (Editor) A one-volume guide to the major interpretative questions currently engaging scholars of the twelve Minor Prophets.

Feminist Companion to Wisdom Literature (Online) by Athalya Brenner-Idan (Editor) Provides feminist approaches to Wisdom Literature from leading scholars of the Hebrew Bible and feminist hermeneutics.
The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Wisdom Literature (Online) by Katherine J. Dell (Editor); Suzanna R. Millar (Associate Editor); Arthur Jan Keefer (Associate Editor) Engages with the wisdom literature and provides authoritative summaries of the state of the field.
The Oxford Handbook of the Writings of the Hebrew Bible by Donn Morgan (Editor) A resource for the study of the literature of the Writings (Psalms, Job, Proverbs, Ruth, Esther, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Ezra-Nehemiah, Chronicles, Daniel) of the Hebrew Bible, including its context and its scriptural/canonical shape and reception.
The Oxford Handbook of the Psalms (Online) by William P. Brown (Editor) Classical scholarship and traditional approaches as well as contextual interpretations and practices are well represented.