Yale University Library Research Guides: Hebrew Bible Interpretation I &amp; II: Reader Response Criticism

Intro to Reader Response

A Concise Dictionary of the Bible and Its Reception by John F. A. Sawyer Not only identifies terms and biblical figures but also examines them from the perspective of "reception history"--the history of the Bible's effect on its readers.
The Oxford Handbook of the Reception History of the Bible (Online) by Michael Lieb; Emma Mason; Jonathan Roberts; Christopher Rowland Includes essays on the reception of Genesis, Exodus, and Judges.

Handbooks of the Bible and Its Reception (Online) Provides comprehensive introductions to individual topics in biblical reception history. Includes handbook on biblical reception in Jewish, European Christian, and Islamic folklores (volume 1).
Studies of the Bible and Its Reception (Series) The series Studies of the Bible and Its Reception (SBR) publishes peer-reviewed monographs and collected volumes which explore the reception history of the Bible in a wide variety of academic and cultural contexts. Closely linked to the multi-volume project Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR).

The Reader-Oriented Unity of the Book of Isaiah by Archibald L.H.M. van Wieringen
Isaiah: Interpreted by Early Christian and Medieval Commentators by Robert L. Wilken Wilken's selection of ancient commentators clearly illuminates how Isaiah was used by the New Testament writers and understood by the early church fathers. Each chapter begins with a modern English translation of the septuagint, prepared by Moises Silva. Editorial comments provide a foundation for understanding the excerpted commentaries and other writings that follow for each chapter.

The Book of Genesis: Composition, Reception, and Interpretation by Craig A. Evans (Editor); Joel N. Lohr (Editor); David L. Petersen (Editor) Contains commentary on or interpretation of specific passages (or sections) of Genesis, as well as essays on textual history and reception of Genesis in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
Exodus Through the Centuries by Scott M. Langston A reception history of how Exodus has influenced and has been influenced by history, religion, politics, the arts and other forms of culture.

Psalms Through the Centuries by Susan Gillingham First of two volumes on the reception history of the Psalms.
Chronicles Through the Centuries (Online) by Blaire A. French Offers a history of the interpretation of Chronicles in theology, worship, music, literature and art from the ancient period to the present day.
Lamentations Through the Centuries (Online) by Diana Lipton; Paul M. Joyce Explores the variety of cultural and religious responses to Lamentations.
The Song of Songs Through the Ages: Essays on the Song's Reception History in Different Times, Contexts, and Genres by Annette Schellenberg (Editor) Includes twenty-three essays that cover the Song's reception history from antiquity to the present. They illuminate the richness of this reception history, paying attention to diverse interpretations in commentaries, sermons, and other literature, as well as the Song's impact on spirituality, theological and intellectual debates, and the arts.