Yale University Library Research Guides: Ethnicity, Race, and Migration: Social Sciences &amp; Medicine

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus (Primary Database) Searches Harvard's Anthropological Literature and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute). Coverage is from late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
eHRAF World Cultures Contains descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information.
Royal Anthropological Institute Papers Collection of digitized primary sources providing access to two hundred years of scientific research and progress in the fields of natural history, natural sciences, medical research, climate science, civil and human rights, education in the sciences, and more. Contains an extensive body of diverse and interdisciplinary original materials, including correspondence, fieldwork, gray literature, personal papers, photographs, and proceedings.

For more information contact:

Jennifer Snow (jennifer.l.snow@yale.edu)

Librarian for Anthropology, Sociology, and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality

Environment Complete A collection of publications in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
GreenFILE Interdisciplinary resource for human impact on the environment

For more information, contact:

Librarian for Environmental Studies

Endangered Languages Archive Archival collection of endangered languages through Indiana University
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) LLBA contains information about publications in Linguistics and related fields from 1973 – Present. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
SIL International's Ethnologue In February 2019, Ethnologue released its 22nd edition of statistics of living languages of the world, including the number of speakers, places spoken, dialects, linguistic affiliations, and more.
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) WALS is a publication put out by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology. You can browse languages by feature (e.g., languages with Feature 93A, "position of interrogative phrases in content questions") and connect to the resource where the language is described.

For more information contact:

Kayleigh Bohemier (kayleigh.bohemier@yale.edu)

Science Research Support Librarian

International Political Science Abstracts Indexes world's leading journals in political science with over 282,000 records from more than 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Searchable in multiple languages.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Indexes major journals in political science that cover such topics as political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics.
Find Policy Search 17 think tanks for policy analysis on a variety of topics

For information on Manuscripts and Archives, please look here.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951
Sociological Abstracts International literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
Social Science Full Text (Wilson) Interdisciplinary. Extensive coverage of anthropological literature.