Yale University Library Research Guides: Ethnicity, Race, and Migration: Humanities

Arts, Architecture, and Theater

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1930s (selective coverage to 1860s) to the present Indexes articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation and is often the best resource available for less-published architects. It also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations.
ARTstor Vended image database offering over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance IBTD began as a project initiated by the American Society of Theatre Research, and now comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
Arts and Activism Research Guide

For more information contact:

Tess Colwell (tess.colwell@yale.edu)

Arts Librarian

Lindsay King (lindsay.king@yale.edu)

Associate Director for Access and Research Services

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Literature Online (LION) The leading online resource for the study of literature in English. It combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Search for authors, texts (such as earlier works of texts), criticism, and reference sources
MLA International Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and other information resources in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. To make the best use of this resource, use its Thesaurus (look at the blue bar, upper right, once you click) or search using the Linguistics Topic field. You can also make use of the abstract indexing to do test searches and refine your results as you go.

For more information contact:

Carla Baricz (carla.baricz@yale.edu)

Librarian for English and Comparative Literature

America History and Life The key source for searching scholarly literature in U.S. history. Unlike JSTOR, America History and Life is current and includes books and dissertations. Tip: Search book titles to find book reviews.
Historical Abstracts Scholarly journal articles on all parts of the world except the U.S. and Canada.
JSTOR (general database)

For more information contact:

James Kessenides (james.kessenides@yale.edu)

Kaplanoff Librarian for American History

For information on Manuscripts and Archives, please look here.

African American Studies Critical Guide to OHAM
Ethnic music on records: a discography of ethnic music recordings produced in the United States, 1893 to 1942. A 7-volume set listing records from various ethnic diasporas (including the Middle East)
Ethnomusicology
Electronic Dance Music

For more information contact:

Susan Lovejoy (suzanne.lovejoy@yale.edu)

Music Librarian for Research and Instruction

Philosophy Documentation Center (POESIS)
Searchable access to a database containing the full-text of current, recent, and back issues of philosophy journals.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) Includes more than 300 full-text journals in religion and philosophy.

For more information contact:

Colin McCaffrey (colin.mccaffrey@yale.edu)

Librarian for Classics and Philosophy