Yale University Library Research Guides: Free Web Resources on Religion: Databases & Journals

Free Databases

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Free, full text, quality scholarly journals in all languages and subjects, including theology and religious studies.
EBSCO Open Dissertations A database to search for millions of free dissertations.
Google Scholar
Ingenta Provides access to article citations. Some articles are available full text for free, others for a fee.

Online Journals

Electronic Journals Library (EZB): Theology and Religious Studies A library that brings together scholarly one of the largest collection of freely-available online journals in the areas of theology and religious studies available.
Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism (Journals) Online digital library of journals, books, and other materials relating to theology, interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Requires making a free account before accessing articles.
Online Theology-Related Periodicals (College of St. Benedict/St. John's University) Most of the journals found on this site are not freely available online but do represent the range of academic journals on philosophy and religion that can be accessed via an academic library
Open Access Digital Theological Library Curates high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.

P.O. BOX 208240
New Haven, CT
06250-8240
(203) 432-1775

@YALELIBRARY

Free Web Resources on Religion: Databases & Journals