Alex Catalogue of Electronic TextsA collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.
Bibliotheca Religiosa IntraTextFull text library of religious texts from Christianity (including the categories of Bible, Catholicism, the Vatican, Orthodox Christianity, Patristics, Reformation, the consecrated life and Thomism), Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam.
Books@Atla Open PressPublishes free resources for religious studies and theology scholars and librarians. Titles are published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial license (CC-BY-NC 4.0 International) and are made available in EPUB and PDF format with some titles also available as Print on Demand for a reasonable price.
Christian Classics Ethereal LibraryExtensive online collection of classic Christian texts, including Patristic writings, various versions of the Bible, hymns, denominational works, reference works, and theological texts.
Digital Library of Buddhist StudiesProvides access to a searchable Buddhism database of bibliographies, books, journals, periodicals, research reports, thesis etc. Includes over 470,000 Buddhist bibliographies and over 114,00 full text Buddhist articles.
Internet Sacred Text ArchiveIncludes sacred texts from various religious traditions including Baha’, Buddhism, Christianity, Jainism, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam, Mormonism, Paganism, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoism, and Zoroastrianism.
Project GutenbergContains numerous online texts, including a number in religious studies and theology.
Universal Digital LibraryOnline collection of digitized books. Use the Browse feature to find books on religion.
Patristic & Medieval Texts
Augustine of HippoEssays on Augustine and his work, commentaries, and research materials. Includes some primary texts in English translation.
Early Christian WritingsOnline editions of Christian texts, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references from the 1st to the early 4th centuries.
Early Church TextsIncludes 225+ carefully prepared on-site texts (original language with English translation alongside) from the first five centuries of the life of the Church. These texts are mainly extracts and cover a range of significant themes and represent several authors.
Fourth Century ChristianityA site promoting and storing research tools and texts for the study of the Church and its environment in the Fourth Century. Includes primary texts and other tools that provide historical context for early Christian theologians and councils.
Gnostic Society LibraryCollection of primary and other documents relating to the Gnostic tradition, including all major Gnostic writings and anti-Gnostic patristic texts.
Internet Medieval SourcebookLinks to medieval texts and sources on the Web, both of short extracts and full documents.
Online Critical PseudepigraphaContains texts of the Old Testament pseudepigrapha in their original (or extant) languages; some with critical apparatus.
Sefaria: A Living Library of Torah Texts OnlineOffers free access to Jewish texts texts, translations, and commentaries for the study and interpretation of Torah. Many of the works are available in other languages.
Calvinism Resources DatabaseArticles, essays, and lectures dealing with John Calvin and Calvinism from the 16th century to the present.
Church in the Southern Black CommunityCollection of electronic texts documenting how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life.
Digital Quaker CollectionFull text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
