Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Cambodian Newspaper Project: Bibliography and Resources

A collection of Cambodian newspapers in the 1990s, a transition period when Cambodia emerged from a communist to a liberal democratic state. A historical collection that can tell so many stories Cambodia experienced during this transition period.

Print Resources

Asian Media Information and Communication Centre. (2000). Media & democracy in Asia: An AMIC compilation. Singapore: Asian Media Information and Communication Centre.


Blankson, I. A., & Murphy, P. D. (2007). Negotiating democracy: Media transformations in emerging democracies. Albany: State University of New York Press.


Chap, S., & Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace. (2005). Role of media and civil society in a democracy: A Cambodian case study. Phnom Penh, Cambodia: Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace.

 

Edman, B. L. (2000). Trapped in the past, seeking out a future: a study on the Cambodian media sector. Phnom Penh: CIDA and Forum Syd.

 

Heder, S. R., & Ledgerwood, J. (1996). Propaganda, politics, and violence in Cambodia: Democratic transition under United Nations peace-keeping. Armonk, N.Y: M.E. Sharpe.

  

Institute for Media, Policy & Civil Society (2002). Election Coverage Training in Cambodia: A Report on the Cambodia Journalists' Training Project in Campaign Coverage of the Commune Elections of February 3, 2002. Vancouver: IMPACS.


Institute for Media, Policy & Civil Society (2000). Media and Peacebuilding in Cambodia: A Journalists' Training Project. Final Report. Vancouver, Canada: IMPACS.


Jarvis, H., Lalonde, C., Nhean, L., & Majjhamanḍal Khmersiksā. (2006). Publishing in Cambodia. Phnom Penh, Cambodia: Center for Khmer Studies, Pub. Dept.


Josephi, B. U. (2010). Journalism education in countries with limited media freedom. New York: Peter Lang.

 

Kanter, J., & Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace. (1997). The future of the media in peacebuilding in Cambodia. Phnom Penh: Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace.


Mehta, H. C. (1997). Cambodia silenced: The press under six regimes. Bangkok, Thailand: White Lotus.


Palan, A., & Sarayeth, T. (1995). Women in the media in Cambodia. Phnom Penh: Cambodia Communication Institute.


Tenove, C.J. (2001). Journalists in Transition: The Crisis of Professionalism in New Democracies Case Study: Cambodia. Paper. Vancouver: University of British Columbia.


United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia. (1993). Media guidelines for Cambodia. New York: UNTAC.

 

Vom, B. W. (2004). The Asia media directory. Singapore: Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation. The online version can also be accessed at http://www.kas.de/medien-asien/en/publications/6501/

 
Vom, B. W. & Carthew A. (2008). The Asia media directory. Singapore: Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation. The only version can be accessed at http://www.kas.de/wf/doc/kas_15805-544-1-30.pdf

Online Resources

Amnesty International (1996). Chan Rottana - prisoner of conscience. Accessed October 25, 2011 at http://www.amnesty.org/en/library/asset/ASA23/009/1996/en/56e1d29c-eaf5-11dd-aad1-ed57e7e5470b/asa230091996en.html%20

 

Article 19, (2006). Freedom of Expression and the Media in Cambodia. Accessed October 22, 2011, from  http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/475418400.html

 

Article 19 (2010), Cambodia Gagged: Democracy at Risk? Report on Freedom of Expression in Cambodia. Accessed October 27, 2011, from http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4cad74b22.html

 

Cambodian League for the Promotion and Defense of Human rights (LICADHO). Restrictions on the freedom of expression in Cambodia's media 2008.Briefing papers. Retrived October 21, 2011, from http://www.licadho-cambodia.org/reports.php?pagenb=1&filter=1

 

Cambodian League for the Promotion and Defense of Human rights (LICADHO). Reading Between the Lines: How Politics, Money and Fear Control Cambodia's Media. Report. Retrieved October 21, 2011, from http://www.licadho-cambodia.org/reports.php?perm=119&pagenb=0&filter=0

 

Clarke, J., Training journalists in an emerging democracy: The case of Cambodia, Asia Pacific Media Educator, 8, 2000, 82-98. Accessed on 21 October 2008 at http://ro.uow.edu.au/apme/vol1/iss8/8/%20

 

Committee to Protect Journalists (2010). Cambodian journalist released from prison in amnesty. Accessed October 27, 2011, from http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4bfd2b7623.html

 

Committee to Protect Journalists (2009). Cambodian editor sentenced on 'disinformation' charge. Accessed October 27, 2011, from http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4a840bddb.html

 

Committee to Protect Journalists (2008). Cambodia: Journalist shot and killed in run-up to elections. Accessed October 27, 2011, from http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/48a5753c23.html

 

Committee to Protect Journalists (2003). Attacks on the Press, 2003: Cambodia. Accessed October 28, 2011, from http://cpj.org/2004/03/attacks-on-the-press-2003-cambodia.php 

 

Freedom House, (2010). Freedom of the Press 2010 - Cambodia. Accessed on October 28, 2011, from http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4ca44d9c2.html

 

Human Rights Solidarithy (2001). Cambodia: new press law: a step backward. Accessed October 28, 2011, from http://www.hrsolidarity.net/mainfile.php/1994vol01no01/1938/

 

Internews (2006). Investigative Reporting: A Handbook for Cambodian Journalists. Accessed on 21 October 2011 at http://www.internews.org/pubs/gov/cambodia_investigative_200705/cambodia_investigative200705.shtm%20%20

 

Kingdom of Cambodia (1995). Press law (Khmer version). Ministry of Informaton. Accessed Octer 25, 2011, from http://www.information.gov.kh/english/laws_en/txt_en/RoyalDegree_en/RDE-001-01-09-95_en.pdf

 

Kingdom of Cambodia (1995). Press law (English version). Asian Human Rights Commission. Accessed October 28, 2011, from http://test.ahrchk.net/countries/cambodia/cambodian-laws/press_law/press

 

Kingdom of Cambodia (1995). Law on the press (English version). UNHCR. Accessed October 27, 2011, from http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/3ae6b51c30.html

 

Loo, E. (2006). Cambodian journalism 'flying blind'. Media Development, 3, 65. Accessed October 22, 2011, from http://waccglobal.org/en/20063-communication-for-development-and-social-justice/594-Cambodian-journalism-flying-blind.html

 

Neumann, A.L. (2002). Cambodia's newspapers emerge from a repressive era: lacking international pressure, radio and television in Cambodia remain under state control. Nieman Report. Accessed on 24 October 2011 at http://www.nieman.harvard.edu/reports/article/101379/Cambodias-Newspapers-Emerge-From-a-Repressive-Era.aspx

 

Tive S. (2002). Media reform experiences in Cambodia. WACC, promoting communication for social changes. Accessed October 28, 2011, from http://waccglobal.org/en/20031-intellectual-property-rights-and-communication/658-Media-reform-experiences-in-Cambodia.html

 

Pisani, E. (1996). Cambodian press gets it all wrong, pays the price. Chamber World Network International Ltd. Accessed October 27, 2011 from http://www.ternyata.org/journalism/features/cambodia_press.html


National Media Organizations and Associations

Cambodian Association for the Protection of Journalists (CAPJ), an associate member of the international Federation of Journalists
P.O. Box 816, 58 Street 336, Sangkat Psadoeum Khor, Khan Tuol Kok, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.
Mobile tel: (855 15) 917004,
Fax: (855 23) 215834,
Email: umsarin@hotmail.com.
http://capj-cambodia.blogspot.com


Cambodian Center for Independent Media
Email: pnteang@ccimcambodia.org Mobile: +855 12 598 066
http://www.ccimcambodia.org


Cambodian Communication Institute-Foundation (CCIF), UNESCO project set sup in 1994 to provide journalism training.
UNESCO National Office to Cambodia. # 38 Samdech Sothearos Blvd, P.O. Box 29, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Tel: (855-23) 426 726
Fax: (855-23) 426 163
Email:phnompenh@unesco.org
http://www.unesco.org/new/en/phnompenh/communication-and-information/the-cambodia-communication-institute


Club of Cambodian Journalists (CCJ)
# 226, Street 155, Sangkat Tuol Tumpoung I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh (South of Tuol Tumpoung/ Russian market)
Tel: 023 224 094,
Fax: 023 224 094,
Email: ccj@online.com.kh
http://www.ccj.com.kh


League of Cambodian Journalists (LCJ), an associate member of the International Federation of Journalists
#74, St. 205 Sangkat Toulsvayprey, Khan Cham Kamon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia,
Telephone/Fax: 855-23-360.612,
Mobile : 855-015-835.264


Ministry of Information, Royal Government of Cambodia
# 62, Preah Monivong Blvd., Sangkat Sras Chork, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh
Tel: 724 159 /426 059 / 723 389, Fax: 724 275,
E-mail: info@information.gov.kh
http://www.information.gov.kh/english.html

 
Press Council of Cambodia (PCC)
Mr Om Chandara, President
c/o Cambodian Center for Independent Media (CCIM)

 

Royal University of Phnom Penh (the first and the only university provides degree education in Journalism in Cambodia)
Department of Media and Communication
Russian Federation Blvd, Tuol Kork, Phnom Penh
Tel & Fax: 855-23-884-408
Email: DMC@online.com.kh
http://rupp.edu.kh/fssh/media/media.php


Women's Media Center of Cambodia (Cambodian not-for-profit NGO run by women to promote the social change in Cambodia society)
#30, Street 488 (484), Sangkat Phsar Demthkov, Khan Chamcar Morn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Tel/Fax: (855) 23 223 597 
E-mail: info@wmc.org.kh
http://www.wmc.org.kh

International Media Organizations and Associations

Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ)
http://www.cpj.org/regions_08/asia_08/asia_08.html#cambodia

 

Indpendent Journalist Foundation (IJF)
http://www.ijf-cij.org

 

International Journalists' Network (IJNet)
http://ijnet.org

 

International Federation of Journalists (IFJ)
http://www.ifj.org/en/articles/cambodia-cambodian-association-for-protection-of-journalists-capj

 

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung
Media Programme Asia
http://www.kas.de/medien-asien/en/pages/7247

 

Reporter Without Border
http://en.rsf.org/cambodia.html

 

Southeast Asian Press Alliance (SEAPA)
http://www.seapabkk.org