Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Archival Management Systems Committee: Committee Charge and Membership

Committee Charge and Membership

 

Charge

The Yale Archival Management Systems Committee (YAMS) is charged by the Special Collection Steering Committee with overseeing implementation, operation, system maintenance, and development of enterprise systems used by Yale University Library (YUL) special collection units for archival resource description, discovery, accessioning, collection control, and the description of people, families and corporate bodies. The Committee coordinates all matters pertaining to the development and maintenance of policies and best practices related to the use of these systems.

 

YAMS is committed to sharing resources and information with the professional archives community - including developed software, scripts, processes, and systems expertise - and strives for a practice of openness and collaboration with internal and external colleagues.

 

The current system of record for archival accessions and materials described in finding aids in YUL special collection units is ArchivesSpace.

 

Member Duties

  • Establish, publish, and maintain policies and best practices for the use of ArchivesSpace at YUL
  • Establish, publish, and maintain policies and best practices for the creation and delivery of archival description through ArchivesSpace via Archives at Yale (the ArchivesSpace Public User Interface) to the YUL community and external users
  • Maintain training documentation and make available appropriate training sessions and other outreach activities regarding the ArchivesSpace staff and public interfaces
  • Coordinate the development of enhancements and new features for ArchivesSpace internally, in collaboration with the ArchivesSpace community, and with outside vendors
  • Oversee the integration of ArchivesSpace with other systems and coordinate with staff members responsible for the implementation of those systems
  • Maintain documentation of best practices and the committee's activities
  • Advise senior library leadership on relevant issues related to enterprise systems for archival collection control and authoring of descriptive records
  • Keep current with national developments related to ArchivesSpace; EAD, DACS, and other relevant archival standards; and electronic finding aids
  • Provide periodic reports on committee activities to the Special Collections Steering Committee

 

Term of Appointment
  • Members: One year with the option to renew. 
  • Co-chairs: Two-year terms, preferably staggered.

 

Time Commitment
  • Members are expected to attend 1 hour bi-weekly meetings.
  • Members are expected to commit time to work on behalf of the committee, on average, as follows: Chair 10-20% (2-4 day/month), members 5-10% (1-2 days per month)

 

‚ÄčThis is an active committee with changing priorities that may require greater time commitments depending on ongoing committee projects

 

Internal Relationships

YAMS has open meetings and invites any interested stakeholders or colleagues to attend.

 

  • Library IT
  • Information Technology Steering Committee
  • Archival and Manuscript Description Committee (AMDECO)
  • Metadata and cataloging staff
  • Aeon User Group (AUG)
  • Born Digital Archives Working Group (BDAWG)
  • Digital Preservation Services
  • YUL ArchivesSpace user community
  • Special Collections Steering Committee

 

Membership Breakdown

  • At least 2 Representatives from Manuscripts and Archives
  • At least 2 Representatives from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
  • At least 3 Representatives from other repositories
  • At least 1 LIT Representative
  • Consultants from other repositories or library departments as necessary

 

Non-members are welcome to attend regular YAMS meetings.

Committee Roster

2020-2021 (current)

  • Alicia Detelich, Manuscripts and Archives (Co-Chair)
  • Christy Bailey-Tomecek, Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Co-Chair)
  • Maura Carbone, Beinecke Library
  • Alison Clemens, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Services
  • Genevieve Coyle, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library
  • Rosemary Davis, Beinecke Library
  • Katherine Isham, Medical Library, Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney
  • Trip Kirkpatrick, Library IT
  • Cate Peebles, Yale Center for British Art

 


2019-2020

  • Alicia Detelich, Manuscripts and Archives (Co-Chair)
  • Eve Neiger, Beinecke Library (Co-Chair)
  • Christy Bailey-Tomecek, Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
  • Alison Clemens, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Maura Carbone, Beinecke Library
  • Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Services
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library
  • Rosemary Davis, Beinecke Library
  • Katherine Isham, Medical Library, Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney
  • Cate Peebles, Yale Center for British Art
  • Steelsen Smith, Yale Library IT

2018-2019

  • Alicia Detelich, Manuscripts and Archives (Co-Chair)
  • Eve Neiger, Beinecke Library (Co-Chair)
  • Alison Clemens, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Maura Carbone, Beinecke Library
  • Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Services
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library
  • Rosemary Davis, Beinecke Library
  • Matthew Gorham, Beinecke Library
  • Katherine Isham, Medical Library, Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney
  • Cate Peebles, Yale Center for British Art
  • Steelsen Smith, Yale Library IT
  • Christy Tomecek, Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
  • Melissa Wisner, Yale Library IT

2017-2018

  • Matthew Gorham, Beinecke Library (Chair)
  • Alison Clemens, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Services
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library
  • Alicia Detelich, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Sandra Markham, Lewis Walpole Library
  • Christy Tomecek, Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
  • Sarah Welcome, Yale Center for British Art
  • Melissa Wisner, Yale Library IT

2016-2017

  • Matthew Gorham, Beinecke Library (Chair)
  • Alison Clemens, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Services
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library
  • Alicia Detelich, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Sandra Markham, Lewis Walpole Library
  • Suzi Noruschat, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Michael Rush, Beinecke Library
  • Sarah Welcome, Yale Center for British Art
  • Melissa Wisner, Yale Library IT

2015-2016

  • Matthew Gorham, Manuscripts and Archives (Co-chair)
  • Emily Dileo, Music Library (Co-chair)
  • Maureen Callahan, Manuscripts and Archives (former Co-chair)
  • Rachel Chatalbash, Yale Center for British Art
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library
  • Sandra Markham, Beinecke Library
  • Michael Rush, Beinecke Library
  • Melissa Wisner, Library IT

2014-2015

  • Mary Caldera, Manuscripts and Archives (Co-chair)
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library (Co-chair)
  • Maureen Callahan, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Rachel Chatalbash, Yale Center for British Art
  • Michael Rush, Beinecke Library
  • Adam Shahrani, Beinecke Library
  • Melissa Wisner, Library IT

2013-2014

  • Mary Caldera, Manuscripts and Archives (Co-chair)
  • Mark Custer, Beinecke Library (Co-chair)
  • Maureen Callahan, Manuscripts and Archives
  • Rachel Chatalbash, Yale Center for British Art
  • Steve DiSorbo, Library IT
  • Kevin Glick, Manuscripts and Archives
  • George Ouellette, Library IT
  • Michael Rush, Beinecke Library
  • Adam Shahrani, Beinecke Library
  • Melissa Wisner, Library IT