Finding Books with Illustrations

To find books with illustrations of a certain topic:

1. Go to Orbis Advanced Search
2. On one line on the Advanced Search page, put this in a single search box: ill? plate? photo? and then select Any of these from the dropdown within Keyword anywhere. (This will find all variations of the words illustrated, illustrations, plate, plates, etc. within the catalog records.)
3. Put additional keywords relevant to your topic in the other search boxes.

Finding original photographs

Individual photographs can be difficult to locate if they have not yet been digitized. This is because most records for original photographs describe groups of photographs rather than individual ones. One technique for finding photographs in American archives:

1. Go to ArchiveGrid.org (this is a subscription database that searches across many US/Canadian archives; get VPN access if you are off campus)
2. Do a proximity search for your topic by putting it in quotes followed by a tilda and the number of words separating the terms. For example: "guadeloupe photographs" ~10 will return records for archives across the United States that have photographs of Guadeloupe.
3. You will need to contact the individual archive about getting access to the photographs.

Finding Videos at Yale and Beyond
This guide describes how to find videos at Yale in general. This is a good place to go for instructions on how to locate movies, documentaries, etc.

IMDB - The Internet Movie Database
Includes information about virtually any movie that has been publicly released, such as its release dates, director, writers and cast members. Also has biographies and filmographies for actors, directors and others in the film industry.

Film and Fiction for French Historians:  A Cultural Bulletin. An informal online journal/blog stemming from H-France that reviews new and old "films related to the History of France, especially with an eye to their use in the classroom."  

EUSCREEN. Europe's television heritage offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.

INA - Institut National Audiovisuel (France).