Skip to main content

European History: Stats, Maps & Reference

Library resources for Western European history at Yale

Online Biographical Sources

Ancestry.com - Library Edition
Full access to Ancestry.com's huge database of genealogical records. Includes census records, passenger lists, birth/death/marriage records, military records, and more. Many original documents are available as scans.


Biography Index: Past and Present (Wilson)
Indexes a vast number of biographies and biographical articles in print and electronic formats. Click on "Yale Links" to get access to a particular search result.

Biographical sources by country

Online Sources of Statistics

Yale Library Guide to Data and Statistics in the Social Sciences.  The most comprehensive guide to statistical and data resources available at Yale. Broken down by type (such as population, education, public opinion and politics). A few of the sources linked from this guide include:

Electoral Geography 2.0 Maps of results of national elections for countries around the world.


European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice Police, prosecution, conviction and correctional statistics for countries in Europe, 1996-2007. 

European Value Study Public opinion study of "how Europeans think about life, family, work, religion, politics and society." Dates from 1981-present.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Major data archive that includes public opinion studies among many others. To search for statistics on particular topics, try searching their Variables Database by keyword or browse studies related to France.

Parties & Elections in EuropeThe database contains the results of parliamentary elections from all European countries and more than 100 autonomous subnational entities (regions and provinces) since 1945. 

 Yale Library "Business Answers Now!" A fantastic database of questions and answers about where to find business data. Browse the International Business section for example questions, or search by keyword.

 

Historical, Economic and Demographic Maps of France

General method for finding original historical maps in Orbis:

  1. Go to Orbis Advanced Search
  2. In one search box, enter: map? as a keyword. (This will search for "map" or "maps")
  3. Optionally, enter another keyword such as France or Europe. However, don't get too specific; keep in mind that many historical maps are contained within general atlases and are not cataloged individually. An atlas of European maps, for example, might not have the word "France" anywhere in the catalog record.
  4. For best results, use a date range.

Note: Don't use the Type = Printed Maps option unless all you want are unbound flat maps; this option will omit bound maps contained in atlases, maps printed as fold-outs within other books, and so on.

Original Historic Maps at Yale

General method for finding original historical maps in Orbis:

  1. Go to Orbis Advanced Search
  2. In one search box, enter: map? as a keyword. (This will search for "map" or "maps")
  3. Optionally, enter another keyword such as France or Europe. However, don't get too specific; keep in mind that many historical maps are contained within general atlases and are not cataloged individually. An atlas of European maps, for example, might not have the word "France" anywhere in the catalog record.
  4. For best results, use a date range.

Note: Don't use the Type = Printed Maps option unless all you want are unbound flat maps; this option will omit bound maps contained in atlases, maps printed as fold-outs within other books, and so on.

 

Also see the Yale Library Map Collection site for more information about maps at Yale.

Online Maps

Google Maps
Maps based on current satellite images.

European Maps from the Perry-Castañeda Collection Includes scans of European maps dating from the Middle Ages through the present.

 

Historical maps from the Yale Library's Digital Collections The Yale Library digital collections include many maps of European regions; most of the images here are based on the originals from Yale's collections. Modify the keywords to find other maps.