- Bibliographie analytique des thèses (1899-1965). Paris: L'association internationale des docteurs (lettres) de l'Université de Paris, 1967.
SML Reference Z5055 F79 B53 (LC)
- Continued by: Bibliographie analytique des thèses de doctorat universités de France (1966-1974). Paris: AIDLUPA, 1977.
SML Reference Z5055 F79 B532 (LC)
- "Listing is by year, then by university, with an author index. There are also cumulative indexes by personal name as subject, by topical subject, and by geographic terms figuring in the titles for the two volumes (i.e., 1899-1965 and 1966-74) of the bibliography." (Sheehy AH41)
- Bowditch, John. A selected bibliography on modern French history, 1600 to the present. Ann Arbor, MI: Xerox University Microfilms, 1974.
SML Reference Z2176 B68 (LC)
- "Pages 57-112 list some 1,200 dissertations completed in American universities; topical arrangement with author index. The first part of the volume is merely a list of those works on French history which are available from Xerox University Microfilms." (Sheehy DC160)
- Catalogue des thèses et écrits académiques. Paris: Librairie Hachette et Cie, 1885-1958.
SML Reference Z5055 F79 F73 (LC)
- "The official French list. Each annual issue, 1885-1913, is arranged alphabetically by university, with subarrangement by faculte; beginning with 1914, the arrangement is by faculte, with author indexes since 1957. Gives for each thesis: author's name, full title, place, publisher, and since 1930/31, date, size, and paging. Of great value in the university library, as the French theses are among the most important published." (Sheehy AH45)
- Continued by: Catalogue des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises. Paris: Cercle de la librairie, 1960-1985. Annual.
SML Reference Z5055 F79 F73 (LC)
- Covers 1959-1975.
- Continued in part by: Inventaire des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises. Droit, sciences economiques, sciences de gestion, lettres, sciences humaines, theologies. Paris: Universite de Paris I, Bibliotheque de la Sorbonne, Direction des bibliotheques, des musees et de l'information scientifique et technique, 1982- . Annual.
SML Reference Z5055 F69 I59 (LC)
- Catalogue...des thèses reproduites. Lille: L'Atelier, 1987- .
SML Reference Z5055 F79 C37 (LC)
- Supplemented by: Catalogue des thèses reproduites. Lille: L'Atelier; Paris: Diffusion etranger, Didier erudition, 1990- .
SML Reference Z5055 F79 C372 (LC)
- Comprehensive Dissertation Index. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1973-1989.
SML Reference Z5055 U49 +D77 (LC)
- Indexes Dissertation abstracts international (see below) and American doctoral dissertations, among others. Covers 1861-1987.
- Supplemented by: Comprehensive dissertation index. Supplement. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1973-1988.
SML Reference Z5055 U49 +D571 (LC)
- Dissertation Abstracts. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1938- .
SML Reference Z5055 U49 +D57 (LC) [Section B located in SML Stacks]
- Lists dissertations accepted for the Ph.D. and other doctoral degrees by American and Canadian degree-granting institutions. Dates of coverage are 1861 to the present. Coverage is identical for all formats, although the online version does not include abstracts for dissertations prior to 1981. Entitled Microfilm Abstracts from 1938 to 1951. Issued in three parts after 1969:
- Dissertation Abstracts International. Section A: Humanities and Social Sciences
- Dissertation Abstracts International. Section B: Sciences and Engineering
- Dissertation Abstracts International. Section C: Worldwide (called Section C: European Abstracts through 1988)
- Dissertation and Theses - Full Text
- More than 2 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It is the same database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant advantage that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
If there is no option to download the fulltext of a post-1997 dissertation, this means that the author has refused to grant these rights.
- Doctoral Dissertations in History. Washington, DC: American Historical Association, 1973/75- .
SML Stacks Z5055 U49 L57 (LC)
- Lists dissertations in progress or recently completed in the United States. Arrangement is by period, subdivided by place, or place subdivided by period. Many entries have brief annotations.
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
- Center for Research Libraries has more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations, of which approximately 20,000 are included in their database. Not finding a match does not mean CRL does not hold the dissertation, so if you do not find the title you seek here, it is recommended that you search the CRL catalog. If the title does not appear in the database or the catalog, contact CRL directly to inquire if it is held.
- Maire, Albert. Répertoire alphabétique des thèses de doctorat es lettres des universités françaises 1810-1900, avec table chronologique par universités et table détaillée des matières. Paris: A. Picard et fils, 1903.
SML Reference Z5055 F79 M22 (LC)
- "A list of 2,182 theses, arranged alphabetically by author. Gives for each: author, title, place, publisher, date, paging, university, and whether published in any other form. Marks rejected theses. Includes a chronological list of universities and a subject index." (Sheehy AH42)
- Reynolds, Michael M. Guide to theses and dissertations: an international bibliography of bibliographies. Revised and enlarged edition. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1985.
SML Reference Z5053 +R49 1985 (LC)
- Includes sources of information on dissertations in progress and those completed, arranged by country and by subject.
- Système universitaire de documentation
- Le catalogue contient plus de 5 millions de références de monographies, thèses, périodiques et autres types de documents avec leurs localisations.
- Thèses de l'École nationale des chartes.
A note on the annotations:
Balay = Guide to reference books. Edited by Robert Balay. 11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996.
Shelved at Reference Desk
Sheehy = Guide to reference books. Edited by Eugene P. Sheehy. 10th ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1986.
Shelved at Reference Desk