Skip to main content

European History: Journal Articles in databases

Library resources for Western European history at Yale

Journal Article Indices - Bibliographical databases

Full-text journal databases like JSTOR have limitations. They usually don't cover the most recent 2-5 years of publication because of licensing agreements with publishers, and they only cover those journals that have made commercial agreements with the database vendor. Because of this, it can be worthwhile to check for articles that have been indexed but are not yet fully available online. 

These databases do not search the full text of the articles; they only search fields such as author, title and subject.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service). Indexes public affairs literature including political, economic and social issues. It contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 60 countries are included. Materials indexed are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

FRANCIS. Focuses on European cultural studies, indexing selected serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports in multiple languages. See also the archive of FRANCIS and Pascal here.

Historical Abstracts. Annotated references to books, articles, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) .

MLA International Bibliography. More than 2 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics from 1926-present, with some additional records going back to 1880. 

Essay & General Literature. Indexes essays and miscellaneous writings that are not always well covered by other databases. Covers humanities and social sciences 1985-present. The print version goes back to 1900.

Web of Science (ISI). Indexes humanities, social sciences, sciences and engineering articles, with strength in the most recent 20 years of scholarship. Includes conference proceedings, which are not covered by most other databases. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which was formerly separate.

 History Compass. History Compass covers the whole discipline and combines original survey articles with information about all new and recent books, and articles published in all major journals in the field.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. ITER is an online bibliography of the Renaissance (1300-1700). The bibliography covers relevant secondary material published since 1700 to the current year. This material consists of both printed literature and matter in other media.

Articles

JSTOR. Articles on History and other humanities and social science topics. Articles are primarily in English. Often does not cover latest 2-5 years of articles because of licensing agreements.

Google Scholar. Articles from many diverse sources, but many have only snippet views. Hint: try clicking on the link to "Yale Links" to see if Yale has access to articles that are copy-protected. To narrow down your results, make liberal use of the fields in "Advanced Scholar Search.

CAIRN. Articles in French in humanities and social sciences, from French and Belgian publishers.

Persee. Articles in French primarily in history and social sciences with some other humanities disciplines.

Revues.org. A collection of online journals in the humanities and social sciences, including such titles as Annales historiques de la Révolution française, Cultures et conflits, and La Revue des mondes musulmans et de la Méditerranée

Additional indexes and databases

Use these indexes and abstracts to locate articles in journals. Do a journal search in Orbis, the online catalog, by the name of the journal to find out if Yale owns the particular volume you are seeking.

     
ATLA Religion Database. This resource contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects.
     
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. Dissertations accepted for the Ph.D. and other doctoral degrees by American and Canadian degree-granting institutions. Dates of coverage 1861 to the present. Coverage is identical for all formats, although the online version of the database does not include abstracts for dissertations prior to 1981. Issued in three parts after 1969
 .
International Medieval Bibliography.  A classed bibliography with a subject index which includes citations to articles on a broad range of medieval (450-1500 A.D.) subjects from over 800 journals and many collected works.
    
Periodicals Archive Online. Backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
     
Bibliography of British and Irish History. A comprehensive database of references to literature on the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British abroad, covering all periods for which written documentation is available--from 55 B.C. to the 1980s. The database includes approximately 250,000 records detailing most of the books and articles on these subjects published between 1901 and 1992, as well as many published before 1901.

History of Science databases

Hisotry of Science and Medicine Guide Library guide to primary sources at Yale for the History of Science and the History of Medicine.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine. The History of Science and Technology file describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. The file comprises four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science (HSS) (1975-Present), the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture) (1987-Present), and the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated annually, HST contains more than 119,000 records.

Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office

The database of the print Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. U.S. Army, Series 1-5, 1892-1961. Records go back to roughly the 1860s.