Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

History of Coeducation in Yale College: Women at Yale: Coeducation and Beyond

Faculty and Researchers:

Marie Borroff, English Professor

See:

YCAL MSS 177, Series I, Box 1 (correspondence with Sister Mary Bernetta)

Guide to the Sister Mary Bernetta Quinn Papers

Alice Elizabeth (Betsy) Chase, art history professor, first woman appointed to teach

undergraduates in 1943 (became assistant professor in 1946)

See:

RU 9, Series 1, Box 1, fol 8 (Coeducation in Helen Hadley Hall)

Guide to Fellowship of Helen Hadley Hall, Yale University, records

Joan Forsberg, Dean at Divinity School

RU 772, Accn. 19NDA-491, Box 1

Guide to Guide to the Divinity School, Yale University, Photographs and Memorabilia

Box summary: The records consist of photographs of individuals affiliated with Yale.

Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 5: Forsberg, Joan (1953 Feb)

Negatives of Joan Forsberg Dean, Divinity School

See also:

RG 53, Series V, boxes 1, 75, 86 (videos)Series 6, boxes 2-3

Guide to the Yale University Divinity School Memorabilia Collection

RU 1051, Oral Histories Documenting Yale Women, Accession 2012-A-041

Guide to the Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women

Bessie Lee Gambrill, Yale Professor of Education and first woman to be given tenure in a school other than Nursing

RU 237, Accn. 1995-A-033, Box 3

Guide to the Biographical Information on Yale University Affiliated Individuals

Box summary: The records consist of Biographical information on Yale University faculty circa 1938-1990

Folder summaries:

Folder 149: Gambrill, Bessie (n.d.)

Biographical information about Bessie Lee Gambrill, Yale professor of education and first woman to be given tenure in a school other than Nursing. Includes details of her life in press releases, and press-related material.

RU 271, Accn. 1961-A-001, Box 67

Guide to the Department of Education, Yale University, Records

Box summary: The records consist of administrative files, correspondence, catalogs, minutes, graduate student files, curricula, and printed material documenting the activities and operations of the Yale Department of Education. Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 67, folder 461: Gambrill, Bessie Lee (various dates: 1936-1952)

Correspondence to and from and about Bessie Lee Gambrill, Yale professor of education and first woman to be given tenure in a school other than Nursing

Annie Goodrich, first Dean of the School of Nursing

MS1308, Series 1, Box 1

Guide to Goodrich (Annie Warburton) Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to Annie Warburton (Goodrich) first dean of Yale Nursing: 1923-1934. Folders are numbered

Folder summaries:

Folders 1-12:  

The folders contain addresses given by Annie Goodrich during her time as Dean of Yale School of Nursing and are ordered chronologically as follows:

(1)1915-1925 (2) 1926 (3) 1927 (4) 1928 (5) 1929 (6) 1930 (7) 1931 (8) 1932 (9) 1933 (10) 1934 (11) 1935-36

MS1308, Series 1, Box 8

Guide to Goodrich (Annie Warburton) Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to Annie Warburton (Goodrich) first dean of Yale Nursing

Folders are numbered

Folder summaries:

Folder 106:  

The folder contains a book written by Esther W Werminghaus, Annie W Goodrich – Her Journey to Yale (1950) – note its is dated 1939 on the folder but 1950 in the book  

MS1308, Series II, Box 17

Guide to Goodrich (Annie Warburton) Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders of photographs and memorabilia related to Annie Goodrich’s career as Dean of Yale School of Nursing and related pictures of Yale Nursing

Folders are numbered

Folder summaries:

Folders 208:  

The folder contains photographs and prints of Annie W Goodrich at Yale  

See also:

RU 205

Guide to the School of Nursing, Yale University, Records

RU 1073

Guide to the School of Nursing, Yale University, Historical Collection

Anne Coffin Hanson, Art History Professor and first woman at Yale to be named chair of an academic department

RU 237, Accn. 2010-A-009, Box 2

Guide to Bibliographic Information on Yale University Affiliated Individuals

Box summary: Box contains bibliographic material of people affiliated with Yale University. Folders named but not numbered

Folder summaries:

Folder 46: Anne Coffin Hanson

Articles, press release, CVs related to Anne Coffin Hanson, art history professor and first woman at Yale to be named chair of an academic department

See also:

Department of Art History records, especially

RU 796, Accession 2009-A-049, Box 1

Guide to the Department of the History of Art, Yale University, Records

RU 686, Box 7, Folder 48

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

RU 129, Accession 2012-A-026. Records concerning the "Oral histories documenting Yale University women" project (RU 1051) under Florence Minnis, Box 2, Folder 20

Department of Manuscripts and Archives in conjunction with the Yale Women Oral History Project 

Guide to the Department of Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University, Administrative Records

Dorritt Hoffleit, Senior Astronomy Researcher

Dorothy Horstmann, first woman appointed full professor in the School of Medicine (in 1961) and first woman to hold an endowed chair at Yale

MS1700, Series VI, Box 40

Dorothy Millicent Horstmann Papers

Box summary: Box contains personal material related to Dorothy Hortsmann’s career including tributes, honors, memorabilia, and bibliographical material. Horstamnn was first woman promoted to full professor in the School of Medicine, 1961, and endowed chair, 1969

Folder summaries:

Folder 4: Biographical Information, 1941-1994

Folder includes letters of recommendation, cv, work histories, longer biographies.

Folder 5: Clippings, 1952-1970

Large collection of press clippings with photos of the career of Horstmann.

Folder 6: Congratulations on appointment to full professorship, 1961

Personal correspondence and press coverage in relation to Horstmann’s appointment to full professor.    

Folder 7: Congratulations for Endowed Chair, 1969

The folder contains formal press announcement, letter from department, and letters of congratulations from colleagues and friends for endowed chair position  

MS1700, Series VII, Box 42

Guide to Dorothy Horstmann Papers

Box summary: Box contains portraits of Dr Hortsmann and details of faculty/colleagues

Folders are numbered

Folder summaries:

Folder 1: 1940, 1946, 1960.

Includes portraits and negatives of Dorothy Horstmann

Faith Hubley, film animator and instructor at Yale Media Center

RU 237, Accn. 2011-A-023, Box 1

Guide to the Biographical Information on Yale University Affiliated Individuals

Box summary: Letters and correspondence and press in relation to biographical information of people affiliated with Yale

Folder summaries:

Folders 55: Faith Hubley

Press commentary about the career of filmmaker Faith Hubley, art and architecture professor at Yale

See also:

RU 291, Accession 1980-A-001, Boxes 4, 9-10 (films by Hubley) 

Guide to the School of Art, Yale University 

RU 760, Accession 1990-A-068, Boxes 4, 9, 11, 27

Guide to the Yale University Films Records

RU 237, Accession 2011-A-023, Box 1, Folder 55 (biographical info)

Guide to the Biographical Information on Yale University Affiliated Individuals

Edith Banfield Jackson, Early medical researcher and Professor of Pediatrics and Psychology at Yale School of Medicine

MS 1296, Box 1B

Guide to the Edith Banfield Jackson Papers

Box summary: Boxes contains folders related to Edith Banfield Jackson, early medical research and professor of pediatrics and psychology at Yale School of Medicine. Much of the material relates to maternity and child care issues.

Folders are not numbered

Folder summaries:

Box1B: Scrapbooks with clippings, programs, and letters, 1946-48

Articles in popular press written by, or about, Edith Jackson. Also includes letters to and from Dr Jackson and internal memos at Yale

Box1C: Scrapbooks with clippings, programs, and letters, 1949-51

Articles in popular press written by, or about, Edith Jackson. Also includes letters to and from Dr Jackson

Box1D: Scrapbooks with clippings, programs, and letters, 1951-53

Articles in popular press written by, or about, Edith Jackson. Also includes letters to and from Dr Jackson and internal memos at Yale and published material on maternity and child care issues

Box 2: Scrapbooks with clippings, programs, and letters, 1954-59

Articles in popular press written by, or about, Edith Jackson. Also includes letters to and from Dr Jackson and internal memos at Yale and published material on maternity and child care issues

Rosabeth Kanter, Sociology Professor

RU237, Accn. 1991-A-038, Box 2

Guide to Biographical Information on Yale University Affiliated Individuals

Box summary: Box contains folders related to biographies, vitae, photographs and related materials documenting the careers of members of the Yale community.

Folders are numbered

Folder summaries:

Folder 208: Kanter, Rosabeth Moss

Folders relate to Rosabeth Moss Kanter, sociology professor at Yale. Includes biographical material, resume, press announcement move to Harvard Business School (20 Dec 1985), newspaper articles which include photographs of Kanter

Folder 209: Kanter, Rosabeth Moss

Similar material, in particular resume, various biographies, and press articles about Kanter and her research agenda, and press release photos

RU 686, YRG: 48-A, Series 2, Box 95

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

Box summary: Box contains photographs of people affiliated with Yale

Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 269: Kanter, Rosabeth Moss

Photo of Rosabeth Kanter, Sociology Professor at Yale. No date

See also:  

Scattered material in Office of Public Affairs (RU 686), box 95, fol 269

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

Ruth B. Marcus, Philosophy Professor who also earned her Ph.D. at Yale (1946)

See:

MS 1993, Ruth Barcan Marcus papers, Series II, Boxes 16-17

Guide to the Ruth Barcan Marcus Papers

Ellen Ash Peters, first woman appointed full professor in the Law School (in 1964)

See:

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388 (Press Release: Yale and the Female)

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Catherine Prelinger, Historian and editor of Benjamin Franklin papers; the Coordinating Council for Women in History has an award named for her for nontraditional scholars

Sophia Simmonds, Biochemistry Researcher at Yale

See:

MS 1396, Accession 2008-M-012, Box 2 (correspondence with her husband, Joseph Fruton)

Guide to the Joseph Stewart Fruton Papers

Mary C. Wright, history professor, first woman at Yale to be awarded tenure (in 1959, full professor 1964)

MS 876, Accn. 2008-M-047, Box 2

Guide to the Arthur Frederick and Mary Clabaugh Wright Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to original correspondence and photocopies; genealogical research and family documents; newspaper clippings; writings; and photographs relating primarily to Arthur Frederick Wright and Mary Clabaugh Wright, as well as their respective families and associates. Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 10: Correspondence between Mary Wright and Father , 1959-60

Letter from father to Mary Wright congratulating Mary on her promotion to tenure in the History Department. Mary Wright was the first woman tenured at Yale and became a full professor in 1964

MS 876, Accn. 2008-M-047, Box 5

Guide to the Arthur Frederick and Mary Clabaugh Wright Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to original correspondence and photocopies; genealogical research and family documents; newspaper clippings; writings; and photographs relating primarily to Arthur Frederick Wright and Mary Clabaugh Wright, as well as their respective families and associates. Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 8:  

Folder includes Vol. 11: Mary Clabaugh Wright, The Family Years, 1954-1970, Vol. 12: Arthur Frederick Wright, The Family Years, 1954-1976, and Vol. 13: Various Documents, 1962-1986 (bound together) which includes discussion about Arthur Wright and Mary Wright’s move from Stanford to Yale

See also:

MS 876, Series I, Box 6-7, Accession 2008-M-047, Box 1-7 (correspondence)

Guide to the Arthur Frederick and Mary Clabaugh Wright Papers

Students:

Margaret Bailey, 1922 Ph.D.

MS 33, Box 2

Guide to the John Maudgridge Snowden Allison Papers

Box summary: Box contains correspondence between John Maudgridge Snowden Allison, author and professor of history at Yale University.

Folder summaries:

Folder 2: Correspondence with Margaret Bailey (Laughlin) Allison Marshall [still in envelopes--re: school, travel, WWI]

Correspondence between John Allison and Margarte Bailey Yale PhD 1922

MS 583, Box 1

Guide to the Natural Science Manuscripts Collection

Box summary: Box contains various correspondence related to natural scientists affiliated with Yale.

Folder summaries:

Folder 28: Bailey, Margaret Emerson (1886-1949) to Mrs. Jacob Whitman Bailey

Letter from Margaret Bailey PhD to mother (n.d.) and also includes obituary cut out in the New York Times

Ruth Landau Benedict, graduate of School of Nursing (1948) and founding board member of Association of Yale Alumni (not to be confused with famous anthropologist Ruth Benedict)

Jane Matilda Bolin, first black woman to graduate from Yale Law School and first black female judge in the U.S. (Beinecke)

See:

Correspondence with others can be found in the James Weldon Johnson Files (Guide to the James Weldon Johnson Collection Files)

Earl Christie, graduate of Yale Divinity School in 1934 (one of first two graduates)

See:

RU 913, student records of the Yale Divinity School (restricted)

Guide to the Divinity School, Yale University, Student Records

Mrs Peter B Cooper, professional studies in Forestry

See:

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388 (Press Release: Yale and the Female)

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Peter (B) Cooper Papers (MS 1649)

Guide to the Peter B. Cooper Papers

Otelia Cromwell, Ph.D. (English) 1926, first African American woman to receive a Yale Degree

See:

Three Publications in Orbis:

Lucretia Mott (1958);

Readings from negro authors : for schools and colleges, with a bibliography of negro literature (1931);

Thomas Heywood; a study in the Elizabethan drama of everyday life (1928)

See also:

Cromwell, Adelaide (2007). Unveiled Voices, Unvarnished Memories: The Cromwell Family in Slavery and Segregation, 1692–1972. Columbia: University of Missouri

Hester Eisenstein, Ph.D. 1951

RU 86, Accession 1983-A-108, Box 1

Guide to the May Day Rally and Yale Collection

Box summary: Box contains Interviews of people involved in the 1970 May Day Strike

Folder summaries:

Folder 5: Correspondence with Margaret Bailey (Laughlin) Allison Marshall [still in envelopes--re: school, travel, WWI]

Interview with Hester Eisenstein PhD 1951 by Joel Krieger about the May Day Strike

See also:

RU 1051, Accession 2012-A-039Oral Histories of Yale University Women 

Guide to the Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women

Louise Whitman Farnum, first woman to receive an MD from Yale School of Medicine in 1920, later worked on Yale-China program in Changsha, China and was an instructor at the School of Medicine

MS 203, Accn. 2004-M-028, Box 29

Guide to Farnam Family Papers

Box summary: Box contains family photos of the Farnam Family, prominent New Haven family affiliated with Yale. Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 327: Photographs of Louise Farnam Wilson, 1923,1931-1932, n.d.

Includes portraits and pictures of Louise Farnam

Matilda Fenberg, first “official” graduate of Law School in 1919

Lucinda Foote, first woman to apply for admission to Yale

Helen Robinson Gage, first woman to receive a Doctorate of Public Health from Yale in 1923

See:

“Foundation and development of the Connecticut State Board of Health : an historical study”, her Ph.D. dissertation, no call number.

Florence Gaines, graduate of Yale Divinity School in 1934 (one of first two graduates)

See:

RU 913, student records of the Yale Divinity School

Guide to the Divinity School, Yale University, Student Records

Alice Ruffie Jordan, first graduate of Yale Law School in 1886 (Jordan was able to enroll by pointing out that the admissions requirements did not explicitly bar women, but after her women were officially barred for more than 20 years)

See:

Women at Yale Law extract in RU 19, Box 58, Folder 387

Press Release: Yale and the Female - RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Josephine Miles Lewis, recipient of first Yale BFA in 1891

See:

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388 (Press Release: Yale and the Female)

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Virginia Brisac Moore, first woman to receive a bachelor’s degree in music from Yale in 1894

See:

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388 (Press Release: Yale and the Female)

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Margaretta Palmer, among the first seven women to receive PhDs at Yale and later astronomy researcher at Yale

See:

“General catalog of stellar paralaxes” QB813 S35+ Oversize (Orbis)

“Determination of the orbit of the comet 1847 VI”, Qoy 035 1

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388 (Press Release: Yale and the Female)

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Mardette Perkins, School of Drama 1948

See:

YCAL MSS 782 (20 boxes, incl. Correspondence, diaries, video, etc) (Beinecke)

Guide to the Mardette Perkins Papers

Barbara Scott Preiskel, prominent entertainment lawyer and second black woman to graduate from Yale Law School

Helen May Scoville, graduate of Yale School of Medicine in 1920 and later instructor at the school

See:

(Med School Library), study authored by Scoville (Orbis)

Diana Starr, Graduate of Vassar, first woman admitted to Yale School of Forestry in 1966 (left to marry in 1968)

See:

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 388 (Press Release: Yale and the Female)

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Affiliates

Jane Addams, first honorary degree in 1910

Katherine C. Angell, wife of Yale president James Rowland Angell

See:

Material in James Rowland Angell personal papers, MS 2

Guide to the James Rowland Angell Personal Papers

Roberta Blanshard, daughter of Yale professor (Robert M. Yerkes) and wife of philosophy professor Bland Blanshard, worked at Yale University Press

See:

MS 1566, Roberta Yerkes Blanshard Papers

Guide to the Roberta Yerkes Blanshard Papers

Anabel Cahn and Phoebe Herbert, Center for Independent Study (organization founded in 1977 in New Haven by five women married to Yale faculty, to provide resources for independent scholars; the organization was disbanded in 2007. 

See:

Center for Independent Study is covered in RU 578, Accession 1988-A-009, Box 2

Guide to the Yale College Records Concerning the Education of Women

Anne Eaton, grandmother of Elihu Yale (supposedly Anne’s “excommunication” from the Puritan community in New Haven and the family’s subsequent return to England helped pave the way for Elihu Yale to come into his eventual fortune)

Mabel Garvan, wife of famous art history professor Francis Garvey and donor to Yale University Art Gallery

RU 24, Series I, Box 88

James Rowland Angell, President of Yale University, Records

Box summary: Letters and correspondence in relation to the Mabel Brady Garvan Collection. Mabel Garvan was the wife of famous art history professor Francis Garvey and donor to Yale University Art Gallery

Folder summaries:

Folders 880-884: Garvan, Mabel Brady; Garvan, Francis P., Whitney Collections of Sporting Art; Garvan, Mabel Brady Collection; Garvan, Mabel Brady Collection of American Gold Coins

Includes correspondence in relation to Mabel Garvan collection such as new acquisitions

Mary Griswold, Connecticut state legislator and wife of Yale president A. Whitney Griswold

MS 255, Accn. 1996-M-105, Box 1

Guide to Griswold (Alfred Whitney) Personal Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to drafts of Mary Griswold, autobiography (3 folders: 1990)

Folder summaries:

Folders 1- 3:  

The folders contain drafts of Mary Griswold’s autobiography (Ch III-V) which includes her experiences in the Yale community. Griswold was a Connecticut state legislator and wife of Yale president A. Whitney Griswold  

Administrators:

Joni E. Barnett, appointed Athletic Director for Physical Education and Recreation in 1973

RU 686, YRG: 48-A, Series 1, Box 4

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

Box summary: Box contains photographs of people affiliated with Yale

Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

B 4F 146: Barnett, Joni E

Photos and negatives of Joni E Barnett, Director of Physical Education at Yale. Some records dated between 1973 and 1975, but not all dated   

See also:

RU 983, Accession 2006-A-02, Box 6, Folder 329

Guide to the Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records of the Athletic Director

Lottie Bishop, Executive Secretary in the administrative office of the Medical School from 1928 to 1953

See:

MS 569, Series II, Box 105 (correspondence)

Guide to the Robert Mearns Yerkes Papers

Ms Coll 43, New Haven Hospital and Grace New Haven Community Hospital collection, collected and donated by Lottie Bishop

Guide to the New Haven Hospital and Grace-New Haven Community Hospital Collection

Kay Codish, Director for Office of Women in Medicine at Yale School of Medicine

RU 686, Series II, Box 86

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

Box summary: The records consist of photographs of individuals affiliated with Yale.

Folder summaries:

Folder 85: Codish, Kay

Photographs and negatives of Kay Codish, Director for Office of Women in Medicine at Yale School of Medicine

See also:

MS 811, Series III, Box 46 (tapes), Audio Tape Appendix, 17, 18

Guide to the Arthur Jack Viseltear papers

MS 1889, Series II, Box 11 (correspondence with Robert J. Levine)

Guide to the Robert J. Levine Papers

Cora Colburn, first woman director of Yale’s dining halls (in 1923)

Frances “Fran” Holloway, Director of Yale Office for Equal Opportunity Programs

See:

No personal files, but some material in the Office of Institutional Research records:

RU 173, Accession 1987-A-070, Box 1; and Accession 2017-A-014, Boxes 12 and 18

Guide to the Office of Institutional Research, Yale University, Records and Reports

Jackie (Jacqueline) Mintz, Dean of Saybrook College

RU 52, Accn. 1977-A-008, Box 14

Guide to the Secretary's Office, Yale University, Records

Box summary: Box contains folders related to Records of Henry Chauncey, Jr., concerning institutional research and the bicentennial

Folder summaries:

Folder 289: Mintz, Jackie, 1971

Material in relation to offering Jackie Mintz the deanship of Saybrook college – the second woman dean of a residential college. (First was Brenda Lu Jubin of Morse College (1970 – 1973.)  

RU 686, Series I, Box 53

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

Box summary: The records consist of photographs of individuals affiliated with Yale. 

Folder summaries:

Folder 2410: Mintz, Jacqueline Wei

Negatives of Jacqueline (Wei) Mintz, Dean, Associate Provost, and wife of anthropology professor Sidney Mintz

See also:

RU 1051, Accession 2012-A-047Oral Histories of Yale Women 

Guide to the Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women

Marjorie Noyes, director of public information at School of Medicine

See:

No personal files, but some material in the Robert J. Levine Papers, MS 1889, Series 2, Box 17

Guide to the Robert J. Levine Papers

Eva J. O’Meara, first music librarian at Yale, 1924-1952

See:

No personal files, but some scattered material in the collections related to:

Stoeckel family (Misc. MS 247)

The Stoeckel Family Papers

Lowell Mason (MSS 33)

Register to The Lowell Mason Papers

Horatio Parker (MSS 32)

Register to The Horatio Parker Papers

Etta Onat, Assistant Dean of Yale Graduate School, 1965-1972 and Associate Dean of Yale Graduate School, 1972-1985

RU 237, Accn. 1991-A-038, Box 3

Guide to Biographical Information on Yale University Affiliated Individuals

Box summary: Box contains folders related to biographies, vitae, photographs and related materials documenting the careers of members of the Yale community.

Folder summaries:

Folder 329: Onat, Etta

Press release announcing promotion of Etta Onat from Assistant Dean to Associate Dean of Yale Graduate School (Nov 1974).

Press release announcing promotion of Etta Onat to Assistant Dean, Yale Graduate School which includes brief biography (May 11, 1966)

Martha Parker, Special Assistant to the Dean of the School of Architecture

Sherry Penney, Associate Provost from 1976-1982

RU 718, Accn. 1982-A-051, Box 9

Guide to the Budget Office, Yale University, Records

Box summary: Box contains wide range of material relating to financial information.

Folder summaries:

Folder 395: Sherry Penney, 1979-80.

Budgets of various schools and departments in Penney’s file. Penney was Associate Professor and Provost from 1976-1982

Judith Schiff, Archivist

RU 924, Accn. 2003-A-076, Box 1

Guide to the Yale University Women's Organization Oral History Project Records

Box summary: The records consist of transcripts of interviews with participants in the Women’s Organization Oral History Project

Folder summaries:

Folder 10: Schiff, Judith inter alia (10/27/2001)

Interview between Ann Child and Judith Schiff regarding the Yale University Women’s Organization

Ellen Tweed, editor of Yale Law Report (c. 1980)

RU 686, Series II, Box 86

Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals

Box summary: The records consist of photographs of individuals affiliated with Yale.

Folder summaries:

Folder 537: Tweed, Ellen

Negatives of Ellen Tweed, editor of Yale Law Report (c. 1980)

Elga Wasserman, Chair of the Planning Committee on Coeducation

See:

RU 1051, Accession 2012-A-056 

Guide to the Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women

Suzy Wugmeister, career advising

Organizations

Yale University Women’s Organization Records

See:

RU 70, Accn. 1990-A-137

Box 1: Newcomer’s Club Minutes

Guide to the Yale University Women's Organization Records

Women Affiliated with Yale University Records (Used to be the Yale Dames), 1956-1989.

See:

RU 73, Boxes 1-2

Guide to the Women Affiliated with Yale University Records

Helen Forbes Collection on Medical Wives, 1968-1971

See:

Ms Coll 31, Box 1

Guide to the Helen Forbes Collection on Medical Wives

Yale University Women's Organization Records, 1943-2006

See:

RU 70, Accn. 1990-A-137, Box 1; Accn. 1992-A-050, Boxes 1-2; Accn. 2007-A-160, Box 1; Accn. 2008-A-091, Boxes 1-6

Guide to the Yale University Women's Organization Records

Yale University Women's Organization Oral History Project Records, 1965-2002

See:

RU 924, Boxes 1-37

Guide to the Yale University Women's Organization Oral History Project Records

Yale Women's Action Committee Records, 1975-1985

Report on sexual harassment at Yale

See:

RU 477, Box 1

Guide to the Yale Women's Action Committee Records

Campus Ministry Women Records, 1969-1996

See:

RG 68, Boxes 1-3

Guide to the Campus Ministry Women Records

Women Faculty Forum Records, 2006

The Yale Women Faculty Forum hosted a campus-wide poster session on November 7-9, 2006. The session encouraged faculty, students and staff to use a visual medium to present research, advocacy, and discussions taking place on campus by, for, and on women.  

See:

RU 1058, Series Accn. 2008-A-025 

Guide to the Women Faculty Forum, Yale University, Records

Office for Women in Medicine, 1972-1980

See:

RU 568, Box 12

Guide to the Office for Women in Medicine, School of Medicine, Yale University, Records

The Dames Data

Publication distributed by the Yale Dames

See:

Yp21 Y2D+ (Orbis)

Yale Medical Wives Association Records, 1962-1966

See:         

RU 1064, Box 1

Guide to the Yale Medical Wives Association Records

Yale Newcomers Club Records, 1937-1987

See:

RU 71, Accn. 19ND-A-486, Boxes 1-2; Accn. 1991-A-001, Box 1; Accn. 1991-A-125, Box 1

Guide to the Yale Newcomer's Club Records

Yale Women's Center Records, 1969-2014

See:

RU 1130, Boxes 1-4

Guide to the Women's Center, Yale University, Records

Elizabeth Deering Hanscom Papers, 1965-1961

Box 2 includes two dresses belonging to her and her mother

See:

MS 1754, Boxes 1-2

Guide to the Elizabeth Deering Hanscom Papers

The rise of civil government and federation in early New England, 1894

Yale dissertation by Sara B. Rogers (no call number)

Silliman Family Papers, 1717-1911

The Silliman daughters were some of the first female students at Yale

See:

MS 450

Guide to the Silliman Family Papers

Papers on Yale collection

Beatrix Jones Farrand was hired as the head landscape gardener in 1923

See:

RU 103, Box 2, Folder 26

Guide to the Papers on Yale Collection

School of Nursing, 1890-2007

The School of Nursing had a female dean and only female students for many years

See:

RU 1073

Guide to the School of Nursing, Yale University, Historical Collection

Kingman Brewster papers

Academic women (faculty and researchers), women's liaison, and minority women

See:

RU 11, Series 1, Box 109; Series 2, Boxes 281, 291, 297, 306, 334

Guide to the Kingman Brewster, Jr., President of Yale University, Records

Women at Yale Divinity School

See:

RG 53, Series VI

Guide to the Yale University Divinity School Memorabilia Collection

Arthur Howe Jr. papers, 1956-2009

Howe, long commitment to coed admissions; two senior history essays in the collection on coeducation and history of Yale admissions

See:

MS 1755, Accession 2018-M-0015, Boxes 1, 4

Guide to the Arthur Howe Jr. Papers

Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women, 2007-2009

See:

RU 1051

Guide to the Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women

Yale Dames Records

RU 1065, Accn. 19ND-A-478, Box 1

Guide to the Yale Dames Record

Box summary: Box contains folders related to the club Yale Dames, the partners of students at Yale, and includes copies of their publication “Yale Dames’ Data” , as well as copy of constitution and by-laws

Folder summaries:

Folder: Dames’ Data, 1969-70

Includes copies of Dames’ Data from the 1969-70, board members, activities of the group, and brief editorial comments

Yale Women's Coordinating Council Meeting Minutes

RU 1066, Accn. 2008-A-098, Box 1

Guide to Yale Women's Coordinating Council Meeting Minutes

Box summary: Box contains folders related to the YWCC, the administrative assembly of members of Yale organizations that coordinated programs, interest groups, communications, and served as a sounding board for all women at Yale. Box includes minutes of regular meetings

Folder summaries:

Folder 1: YWCC Minutes 1968-1971

Includes minutes from meetings, affiliate groups involved in the collective and women involved in the group. The folder also includes discussion about whether to broaden the group to recently admitted women undergraduates

Benefactors:

Mrs. Thomas G. Bennet, benefactor (donated a building on Congress Avenue which is now part of School of Medicine)

Susan Bliss, benefactor

See:

Some material in Librarian Records, RU 121, Accession 19ND-A-233, Box 11; Accession 19ND-A-234, Box 14, and 19ND-A-235, Box 11

Guide to the Fellowship of Helen Hadley Hall, Yale University, Records

Florence S. M. Crofut, benefactor of the Yale Carillon

See:

Dedication of the Yale Memorial Carillon given in memory of Sidney W. and Lucy E. Marcy Crofut by their daughter Florence S. Marcy Crofut: Branford College Courtyard, Yale University, 2 October 1966 (New Haven, Conn. : Carl Purington Rollins Printing-Office of the Yale University Press, 1966).

Louise B. Cullman, major benefactor

Sophia M. Dolan, benefactor of the Yale Peabody Museum (donated major collection of butterflies and moths)

Mary Goodman, benefactor (a New Haven resident who was black, Ms. Goodman left a bequest in 1870 to support black students studying for the ministry at Yale)

Mary Stillman Harkness, benefactor, especially to library

See:

RU 695 (photographs of and articles about Harkness Memorial Quadrangle)

Guide to the Memorial Quadrangle, Yale University, Photographs

RU 631 (photographs by James Hedden documenting construction of the quadrangle)

Guide to the Memorial Quadrangle, Yale University, Photographs by James S. Hedden

Susan Morse Hilles, daughter of Susan Ensign Morse and benefactor

See:

Material in Frederick W. Hilles Morse personal papers (GEN MSS 1429) 

Guide to the Frederick W. Hilles Manuscript Collection and Papers

Mrs. C. L. Hillhouse, benefactor (donor of land for observatory)

MS 282, Series V, Box 19

Hillhouse Family Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to Mary Lucas Hillhouse covering legal and accounts issues, notebooks, obituaries and scrapbooks

Folder summaries:

Folder 206: Obituaries 1871

Detailed account of Mary’s time in New Haven, her connection to the college, and the musical community at Yale

MS 282, Series V, Box 20

Hillhouse Family Papers

Folder 207-208: Scrapbooks, 1817-1868

Mary Hillhouse scrapbooks of newspaper articles covering local and national issues over the course of her life and includes examples of poetry

MS 282, Series XI, Box 48

Hillhouse Family Papers

Folders 333-334: Writings, 1871 -1873

Personal writings on topics including German songs in English rhyme and Hymms from the Latin

Irene Battel Larned and Urania Battell Humphrey, benefactors (sisters who especially supported music education at Yale)

MS 906, Box 1

Guide to the Battell Family Papers

Box summary: Box contains folders related to Sarah (Robbins) Battell, Irene Battel Larned and Urania Battel Humphrey, benefactors (sisters who especially supported music education at Yale)  

Folder summaries:

Folders 1-9,10: Battell Family Papers, 1838-39, 40

Includes correspondence between Sarah Battell and her husband Joseph Battell and John Battell.

Folder 1-13: Battell Family Papers, 1845

Correspondence between family members including with Sarah (mother) and Sarah (daughter)

Folder 1-16: Battell Family Papers, 1848

Correspondence between family members including Sarah (mother) and daughters (Anna and Irene)

MS 906, Box 3

Guide to the Battell Family Papers

Box summary: Box contains diaries of Urania (Battell) Humphrey and Irene (Battell) Larned  

Folder 26: Battell Family Diaries (Urania and Irene), 1837-49

Detailed lists of daily activities numbered – many of which pertain to music-related activities.

RU 151, Series IV, Box 403

Office of the Treasury

Box summary: Box contains documents related to the estates of Yale affiliates.

Folders are numbered.

Folder summaries:

Folder 584: Irene Battell Larned, 1861, 1877.

Endowments bequeathed by Irene Larned from prominent Battell family

RU 735, Accn. 2008-A-083. Library endowment fund card file, Box 1

Business Office, Yale University Library, Records

Box summary: Card file of endowments. No folders.

Record summaries:

Includes card file for Irene Battell Larned donation of $5000 for purchase of books in English language and literature (established 24 August 1877)

Card file for Irene Battell Larned Music Fund for $1105 ($1000 bond). Income for books related to science. History or art of music (established 31 May 1861)

Elizabeth McFadden, benefactor (donor to Yale University Art Gallery)

See:

Correspondence related to Seven Springs Farm exists in:

Real Estate records (RU 522)

Guide to the Real Estate Office, Yale University, Records

Insurance Office records (RU 521)

Guide to the Insurance Office, Yale University, Records

Kingman Brewster Records (RU 11)

Guide to the Kingman Brewster, Jr., President of Yale University, Records

There is also Agnes E. Meyer’s Collection of Paul Claudel, including the poet and playwright Claudel’s letters to Meyer (GEN MSS 456)

Guide to the Agnes E. Meyer Collection of Paul Claudel

Lelia Morgan, benefactor (donor to Yale University Art Gallery)

Susan Ensign Morse, benefactor of the Morse Research Fellowship

Georgia O’Keefe, famous American artist and benefactor (donated Alfred Stieglitz collection to Yale)

See:

Misc. Ms. 247

The Stoeckel Family Papers

Jane Ellen Hope Winchester, benefactor (donor of Winchester Hall)

Abigale Woodbridge, benefactor (gave first bell to first Yale building in 1720)

 

Publications:

Sylvia Ardyn Boone, Radiance from the waters: ideals of feminine beauty in Mende art 1986 (Ys H65 34+ / Yns72 1986 B66)                        

Boone was the first black woman to receive tenure at Yale

Otelia Cromwell, Lucretia Mott 1958 (Cb66 278)

First African American woman to receive a Yale Degree

Otelia Cromwell, Readings from negro authors : for schools and colleges, with a bibliography of negro literature 1931 (Is50 t931c)                           

Otelia Cromwell, Thomas Heywood; a study in the Elizabethan drama of everyday life 1928 (Ih H519 S928)

Elizabeth Deering Hanscom and Helen French Greene, Sophia Smith and the beginnings of Smith College 1925 (Ljsm51 A1 925h)                    

Elizabeth Deering Hanscom, The heart of the Puritan: selections from letters and journals 1917 (ML25 H198 / Cg3 15)                  

Elizabeth Deering Hanscom, The friendly craft: a collection of American letters 1908 (Is86 t908h)                     

Annie Warburton Goodrich, The social and ethical significance of nursing: a series of addresses 1932 (RT63 932G / Hist RT63 G6)              

First dean of the school of nursing

Margaretta Palmer, General catalogue of stellar parallaxes 1924 (Qb813 S35+)                  

Margaretta Palmer, Determination of the orbit of the comet 1847 VI 1893 (Qoy 035 1)                      

Charlotte F. Roberts, Development and present aspects of stereo-chemistry 1896 (WB 2748)                  

Cornelia Roberts Trans., The progress of economic ideas in France 1893 (Nb50 1)                               

Sara B. Rogers, The rise of civil government and federation in early modern England 1894 (No call number)

Mary Augusta Scott, The Italian novella… 1911 (Hb68 75)                              

Mary Augusta Scott, Elizabethan translations from the Italian 1916 (Z2354 T7 S36 / X468 S895b)              

Mary Augusta Scott, The book of the courtyer: a possible source of Benedick and Beatrice 1901 (Ig 6n y901)                         

Patricia M. Wald, Law and poverty 1965 (PREX 10.2:L 41/965)

For national conference on law and poverty

Laura Johnson Wylie, Studies in the evolution of English criticism 1894 (Ib53 i894w)                         

Laura Johnson Wylie, Social studies in English literature 1916 (Ib50 K916w)                     

Other Sources in Manuscripts and Archives:

David Sauer: “Women at Yale” project (Y 1970?)

Materials collected for a thesis that was never completed. Provides list of prominent donors (Mrs Stephen Harkness, Mabel Garvan) and faculty and administrators  (Betsy Chase, Marjorie Wilder, Lottie Bishop, Katherine B Ingersoll, Ruby Charfield, Emily Hall, Arlene Hadley)

See three versions of prospectus in:

RU 19, Box 58, Folder 387  

Guide to the Reuben A. Holden, Secretary of Yale University, Records

Yale Banner: Articles on coeducation from the, including 1971 article on Calvin Hill Day Care and 1973 article on women’s sports

Folio Yg11 B2 (1841-1907)

Yale University Women’s Organization: newsletters from 1965 to 1969

RU 70

Guide to the Yale University Women's Organization Records

Yale Literary Prizes: many prizes given to women, although not always affiliated with Yale in other capacities

RU 516

Guide to the Yale Literary Magazine Records

Yale Weekly Bulletin / Calendar: highlights many staff women

Y88 1+ Oversize

“Career Advisory Notes”: names of women alumni who participated in career advising programs (Supersedes in part Opportunities for postgraduate study and employment and summer programs issued by the Office of Counseling and Placement, Yale University, Y31 B39 A12)

Y31 B39 A13+ Oversize

“Mother of Men”: article by George Pierson-article about general history of women at Yale before coeducation

Helen Hadley Hall: files associated with graduate residence for women at Yale

RU 9

Guide to the Fellowship of Helen Hadley Hall, Yale University, Records

Yale Historical Register: information from on endowments, for sources on women benefactors of Yale

RU 283

Guide to the Historical Register of Yale University Data Cards

Aurora: Yale’s feminist magazine

RU 95, Series Accn. 1991-A-022 (1955-1986)

Undergraduate affairs, Yale College, records of the dean; Records of the Dean of Undergraduate Affairs, Yale College; Records of Undergraduate Student Organizations

See also:

Class notes for various class years:

RU 491

Guide to the Yale College Records of Classes

Files associated with the graduate and professional schools (various)

Files associated with particular academic departments (various)