Yale University Library Research Guides: Disability Studies at Yale: Databases & Articles

Databases

Use the databases in the next column to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your topic. Because of its multi-disciplinary nature, there is no single database for locating Disability Studies materials.

Databases with Disability Resources

Disability in the Modern World Disability in the Modern World is one of the only databases that brings together all kinds of resources on the topic of disability studies and history. From archives to videos, newsletters and scholarly resources, this database helps highlight the disability movement, technology, medicine, and much more.
Medical Services and Warfare A global collection that includes materials on medical services during the American Civil War and several other military conflicts.
America: History & Life America: History & Life, among other sources of American history, contains historical perspectives on disability and/or disabled persons. This database provides information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. For information on similar publications on non-U.S. and non-Canadian history from 1450 to present, use Historical Abstracts.
Historical Abstracts The primary resource to find resources on history. Covers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. Materials in many languages are indexed.
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology History of Science, Medicine, and Technology indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science, medicine, and technology and allied historical fields, including disability studies.
Project Muse Project Muse has a variety of scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences, such as cultural studies, history, political science, and more.

Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library

Disability Studies at Yale: Databases & Articles

Databases

Databases with Disability Resources