Guides & Handbooks
The following are selected guides and handbooks related to Disability Studies. To find additional references, search the ORBIS (library catalog) for keywords related to your subject area and the words "guides," "handbooks," or "manuals."
A Disability History of the United States by
The first book to cover the entirety of disability history, from pre-1492 to the present. A Disability History of the United States is the first book to place the experiences of people with disabilities at the center of the American narrative. In many ways, it's a familiar telling. In other ways, however, it is a radical repositioning of US history. By doing so, the book casts new light on familiar stories, such as slavery and immigration, while breaking ground about the ties between nativism and oralism in the late nineteenthnbsp; century and the role of ableism in the development of democracy. A Disability History of the United States pulls from primary-source documents and social histories to retell American history through the eyes, words, and impressions of the people who lived it.
Call Number: HV1553 .N54X 2012 (LC)ISBN: 0807022020Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Disability Studies Reader by
The Disability Studies Reader collects, for the first time, representative texts from the newly emerging field of disability studies. This volume represents a major advance in presenting the most important writings about disability with an emphasis on those writers working from a materialist and postmodernist perspective. Drawing together experts in cultural studies, literary criticism, sociology, biology, the visual arts, pedagogy and post-colonial studies, the collection provides a comprehensive approach to the issue of disability.
Call Number: HV1568 .D5696X 1997 (LC)ISBN: 0415914701Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Handbook of Disability Studies by
Drawing on the insights of disability scholars around the world and the creative advice of an international editorial board, the book engages the reader in the critical issues and debates framing disability studies and places them in an historical and cultural context. Five years in the making, this one volume summarizes the ongoing discourse ranging across continents and traditional academic disciplines. The Handbook answers the need expressed by the disability community for a thought provoking, interdisciplinary, international examination of the vibrant field of disability studies. The book is of interest to disabled people, scholars, policy makers and activists alike. The book defines the existing field, stimulates future debate, encourages respectful discourse between different interest groups and moves the field forward.
Call Number: HV1568.2 H36X 2001 (LC)+ OversizeISBN: 0761916520Publication Date: 2001-05-24
Handbook of Special Education by
The purpose of this 13-part, 57-chapter handbook is to help profile and bring greater clarity to this sprawling and growing field. To ensure consistency across the volume, chapter authors review and integrate existing research, identify strengths and weaknesses, note gaps in the literature, and discuss implications for practice and future research. This book is an appropriate reference volume for anyone (researchers, scholars, graduate students, practitioners, policy makers, and parents) interested in the state of special education today: its research base, current issues and practices, and future trends. It is also appropriate as a textbook for graduate level courses in special education.
Call Number: LC3965 .H262X 2011 (LC) OversizeISBN: 0415800714Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about various learning disabilities, with facts about diagnosis, instructional approaches, legal and financial issues, and with coping tips. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
ISBN: 9780780812598Publication Date: 2012-06-26
