Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by
It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. ASL students can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and other nonmanual body signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs.
Call Number: HV2475 .T46 2010 (LC)ISBN: 9781563684449Publication Date: 2010-07-31
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology by
The updated and expanded edition of this best-selling illustrated dictionary provides clear, concise, jargon-free definitions of more than 3500 terms, including developmental disabilities, disorders, assessment tools, theories, anatomical terms, medications, interventions, diagnoses, and professional organizations. Written for a multidisciplinary audience, this comprehensive resource includes terms from many fields, including medicine, psychology, pharmacology, social work, physical therapy, occupational therapy, audiology, speech-language pathology, & genetics. The hardcover edition includes a searchable CD-Rom with full text & illustrations.
Call Number: RJ135 A26X 2002 (LC)ISBN: 1557665931Publication Date: 2002-06-01
Encyclopedia of Disability by
This set represents the first attempts to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1000 entries, in a clear, accessible style, with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability, everything from photographs to correspondence to excerpts from movie scripts and more.
Call Number: HV1568 .E528 2006 (LC)+ OversizeISBN: 0761925651Publication Date: 2005-10-07
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities by
Millions of Americans, both children and adults, suffer from some form of learning disability, resulting in difficulties with spoken and written language, coordination, self-control, self-esteem, and attention. Studies of the causes of learning disabilities and their impact on society have resulted in an explosion of complicated jargon that is daunting to the layperson, especially a parent whose child has been diagnosed with a learning disability. The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities presents a comprehensive look at these disorders in a way that is understandable to educators, professionals, and general readers alike. More than 400 detailed entries define the different types of learning disabilities and problems, including neurological damage, perceptual dysfunction, and language disorders; their causes and treatments; relevant psychological and medical terms; pharmacology; and therapies. The volume also includes appendixes offering information on relevant directories and organizations, periodicals, standardized tests, and government regulations.
Call Number: LC4704.5 .T86 2002 (LC)ISBN: 0816040753Publication Date: 2002-04-01
Encyclopedia of Special Education by
The only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to special education. The New edition includes over 200 more entries than previous edition, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and Response to Intervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis. Includes an international list of authors and descriptions of special education in 35 countries.
ISBN: 9780470642160Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Random House Webster's American Sign Language dictionary : unabridged by
The Random House Webster’s Unabridged American Sign Language Dictionary is a treasury of over 5,600 signs for the novice and experienced user alike. It includes complete descriptions of each sign, plus full-torso illustrations. There is also a subject index for easy reference as well as alternate signs for the same meaning.
Call Number: HV2475 .C66X 2008 (LC)ISBN: 9780375426162Publication Date: 2008-06-10
