Yale University Library Research Guides: History of the Bible &amp; the Book: History of the Bible

History of the Bible: Encyclopedias

The Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture (Online) by John F. A. Sawyer (Editor) Explores how the Bible has impacted on all the major social contexts where it has been influential - ancient, medieval and modern, world-wide (E.g., Latin America). Gives examples of how the Bible has influenced literature, art, music, history, religious studies, politics, ecology and sociology.
The New Cambridge History of the Bible (4 vols.) by Euan Cameron (Editor) 4 volume that chart the Bible's progress from beginning to the present. Each volume focuses on a particular era. Volume 1: From the beginnings to 600. Volume 2: From 600 to 1450. Volume 3: From 1450 to 1750. Volume 4: From 1750 to the present.
The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible (Online) by John Rogerson (Editor) Traces how the canon of Scripture was formed, and concludes with surveys of how the Bible is being used today in feminist criticism, and in the movements for theological liberation in Latin America, Africa, and Europe.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception Online Documents the history of biblical interpretation and reception, not only in Christianity and Judaism, but also in Islam and other non-Western religious traditions and movements.
Textual History of the Bible Online A cross-searchable platform which will contain all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures
Encyclopedia of Jewish Book Cultures Online Focuses on book cultures rather than book contents, placing textuality and materiality of the book in the center of its investigation.

Book History Online (Brill) The international bibliography by Brill in the field of book and library history. It provides a comprehensive survey of all scholarly publications written from a historical perspective.
Oxford Bibliographies: Printing and the Book An extensive bibliography on printing and the book during the Renaissance and Reformation period. Includes books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, specific journal articles, and collected essays.

The Book: A History of the Bible by Christopher De Hamel This title presents a connected narrative account of the Bible as a book and as an artefact, from the earliest fragments found in the Egytian desert to the plethora of modern editions and translations.
The Making of the Bible: From the First Fragments to Sacred Scripture by Konrad Schmid; Jens Schröter; Peter Lewis (Translator) A new biography of the Bible reconstructing Jewish and Christian scriptural histories, as well as the under-appreciated contest between them, from which the Bible arose.
A History of the Bible: The Story of the World's Most Influential Book by John Barton Argues that the Bible is not a prescription to a complete, fixed religious system, but rather a product of a long and intriguing process, which has inspired Judaism and Christianity, but still does not describe the whole of either religion.
The Bible in History: How the Texts Have Shaped the Times (Online) by David W. Kling Traces how specific biblical texts-sometimes a single verse, other times a selection of verses or chapters, even books-have at various times emerged to be the inspiration of movements that have changed the course of history. This revised and expanded second edition adds two new chapters.
Judaism and Its Bible: A People and Their Book (Online) by Frederick E. Greenspahn Explores the profoundly deep and complex relationship between Jews, Judaism, and the Hebrew Bible.