Yale University Library Research Guides: History of the Bible &amp; the Book: Primary Sources

Welcome

This section introduces links to digital texts, including Bibles, manuscripts, and other religious literature (e.g., tracts). Use the drop-down menu for further information on select sources.

Manuscript Collections at Yale Library

Medical Historical Library: Medieval Manuscripts This collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts contains early medical and scientific knowledge on a variety of topics, including surgery, gynecology, medicine, herbs and remedies, anatomy, healthful living, astronomy, and mathematics. They are handwritten in Latin, Italian, Greek, German, and English. Available online via Internet Archive.
Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts at the Beinecke Library The Beinecke Library’s Medieval and Renaissance collections document the history of human thought from the Byzantine era through 1600. Includes links to digitized images and information for catalog records of physical manuscripts.
Medieval Primary Sources--Historical Texts Collection (Yale Library) The Historic Texts Collection brings together an extensive collection of primary sources for the history of Late Antiquity and the Western Middle Ages as well as selected commentaries and reference works. The collection is located in the Starr Main Reference Room of Sterling Memorial Library.
Yale Papyrus Collection Includes over 6000 items in Arabic, Greek, Coptic, ancient Egyptian, and other languages. All digitized material from the Yale Papyrus Collection is available in Yale University Library’s digital library.

Digital Collections: Yale Library (Bibles)

Beinecke Library Digital Collections: Bibles Provides digital access to 124 bibles available at Beinecke Library, such as the famous Gutenberg Bible.

Other Online Resources

The Bible in English Includes 21 different versions of the English Bible. In addition to 13 complete Bibles, there are 5 texts that comprise New Testaments only, 2 that contain just the Gospels, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch.
Polonsky Foundation Digitization Project This project is the result of collaboration between the Bodleian Libraries and the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana. Includes a wealth of digitized Greek, Hebrew, and Latin manuscripts, as well as some early printed books. Searchable by date, origin, and subject.

History of the Bible & the Book: Primary Sources

Welcome

Manuscript Collections at Yale Library

Digital Collections: Yale Library (Bibles)

Other Online Resources

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries