Inquiries may be directed to musiclibrary@yale.edu, or directly to a member of staff.

Suzanne Eggleston Lovejoy, Music Librarian for Access and Research Services (203-432-0497; suzanne.lovejoy@yale.edu), will be happy to answer or to direct your research and reference questions appropriately.

We are happy to visit your class to present on music research skills or our collections.  We can also create guides to library resources for your class.

Contact: Suzanne Eggleston Lovejoy (suzanne.lovejoy@yale.edu; telephone 203-432-0497)

We encourage the use by students and faculty of our special collections as research or teaching material. See our guide to Music Special Collections linked below. We will reserve one of our seminar rooms for your class or studio to study special collections, or help coordinate with the Beinecke Library for classes meeting there to study music materials.

The Music Library’s Special Collections include rare and manuscript material, as well as archival collections. Contact musicspecialcollections@yale.edu (or Suzanne Lovejoy). 

The Collection of Historical Sound Recordings (HSR) includes recorded formats from the beginning of recorded sound to the present day, both commercial and non-commercial.  The collection is particularly strong in music, especially as a resource for performance practice studies, but also includes spoken word (speeches, poetry, and drama).  As well, HSR includes video recordings and archival collections. Contact: Mark Bailey, Head (203-432-6977, mark.bailey@yale.edu)

Oral History of American Music (OHAM) is a collection of recorded interviews with composers and musicians.  Students and faculty can easily stream recordings and access transcripts. Contact:  Anne Rhodes, Research Archivist ((203) 432-1988, anne.rhodes@yale.edu) and Libby Van Cleve, Director (203-432-8586, libby.vancleve@yale.edu).