Yale University Library Research Guides: Music: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Music Research Guide. In this guide, you'll find:

Information about our collections to help you with your research and study
Tips on searching for music scores, recordings, books, articles, and more
Recommended online resources with streaming audio & video, scores, articles, and information about music, that you can access 24/7
Important resources for starting your research that are not yet available online
Special collections pertaining to music: Music Special Collections (archives, manuscripts, and rare editions), Historical Sound Recordings, Oral History of American Music (audio and video interviews), and other collections
Where to ask for help

Library Tours and Workshops
Music Library tours & workshops are listed on this page as well as other workshops offered by the library. Filter by category Music Library to see only the Gilmore Music Library's offerings.
Music Resources on Diversity and Underrepresentation
A guide for musicians and scholars aimed at bringing to light the work of composers and musicians from diverse and underrepresented groups

Music Databases
Yale Library licensed resources for music: e-books, articles, audio, scores, video, and more
Music Library Website
Music: Research Guide
A starting point for music research and information about our collections
Music Resources on Diversity and Underrepresentation
A guide for musicians and scholars aimed at bringing to light the work of composers and musicians from diverse and underrepresented groups
Music Special Collections
Music Subject Guides

The Gilmore Music Library is where you will find the most of Yale's music collections as well as staff to help you use them.

Alexander Street Press - Music and Performing Arts
Search across many databases of streaming audio, video and scores, including American Music, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound and Popular Music Library.
Met Opera on Demand
Dozens of productions from the Met's award-winning "Live in HD" series of movie-theater transmissions, as well as older performances.
Naxos Music Library
Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, the major English-language encyclopedia of music, with extensive bibliographies and composers' works-lists.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Collection of full-text resources on music and music-related subjects (ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, dance, etcetera). Includes coverage from international journals, audio recordings, bibliographies, conference proceedings, dissertations, electronic resources, Festschriften, essays, film & video, monographs, reviews, and other types of resources, dating from the late 18th century to the present.

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

ML104, Music Library, Sterling Memorial Library
Office hours 10:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. weekdays

(203) 432-0497

Subjects: Music

We have a very large research library, one of the largest music libraries in the world
Our students, faculty, and other researchers are working in different areas and need different types of resources
Our resources include not only books and articles about music, but also recordings, videos & DVDs, scores, manuscripts, archival collections, and online resources of all these types.
We hope that the arrangement of tabs and boxes within pages will help you to quickly find the section you need now.
We're always willing to make changes - drop us an email with your suggestions (musiclibrary@yale.edu)