Yale University Library Research Guides: Music Databases: Audio

Audio

Alexander Street Press - Music and Performing Arts
Alexander Street Press - Music and Performing Arts allows you to search across the many Alexander Street Press music and performing arts databases that Yale Music Library subscribes to including American Music, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound and Popular Music Library.
DRAM
A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings (formerly Composers Recordings Inc./CRI) and other important labels. The basis for the collection is the diverse catalog of American music recordings by New World Records. Other contributing sources include the CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music labels.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos music library provides streaming audio access to CD-length recordings. The focus of this resource is Classical Music. The database includes program notes, cover artwork, track list, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of operas, as well as biographical information on composers or artists.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers tracks of jazz from thousands of albums. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, Fantasy Jazz and other labels. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R & B. Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others

Mobile apps

Both Naxos Music Library and Naxos Music Library Jazz offer mobile applications.

Naxos Music Library iOS; Android

Naxos Music Library Jazz iOS; Android

To setup access via these apps, please follow these steps:

Download the app to your phone
To setup the app, you need to be connected to the Yale network the first time you use it, after that you will access anywhere. So connect to either the YaleSecure or YaleWireless WiFi network on campus
Open the app and look for a link towards the bottom of the screen that reads “Connect with your institution” Click on this.
The app will identify that you are on the Yale network and prompt you to create an account. Go ahead and create this. This account is separate to your Yale login.
Once you have created this account, you can then use this to log into the app and can access the streaming service anywhere (i.e you don’t have to be on the Yale network anymore)

For further assistance with setting up these apps, contact S uzanne Lovejoy.

Troubleshooting: If you are unable to create an account using your phone, try setting it up on a computer connected to VPN or on the Yale network.

Open Naxos Music Library
Click on Playlists in the left-hand blue bar
Click on Sign Up in the upper right.
Create your account and reply to the confirmation email.
Now try logging in on your phone.

N.B Occasionally, you might receive a notice when logging into the Naxos Music Library app that says that “Your access to the NML mobile app has been temporarily deactivated because you haven't logged in to your NML Member Playlist account through your institution's access point in some time” or that your subscription as expired. To rectify this issue:

On a laptop or desktop machine, connected to the Yale network, go to this page
Log in using the account details created above. If your login is successful, it should reactivate your account. Then try to login again via the app on your phone or tablet.

Music Databases: Audio

Audio

Mobile apps

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries